⚡️ Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

Superstars who have lost the most IPL Finals

Yash Mittal
Top 5 / Top 10
Modified 20 Dec 2019, 16:09 IST

#3 Virat Kohli (Three, 2009, 2011, 2016)

Three times unlucky

One of the few players to have sworn allegiance to a single IPL Franchise, it is unfathomable that Virat Kohli is yet to win an IPL title.

Kohli has thus featured in three IPL Finals and has to face the ignominy of losing each of them. Kohli played his maiden IPL final in 2009 against the Adam Gilchrist led Deccan Chargers.

RCB proceeded to lose the nail-biter by six runs. Kohli got his second chance in the 2011 Finals but was denied yet again by a rampaging Chennai Super Kings, who on the back of swashbuckling 95 from Murali Vijay, as the Men in Yellow romped home by 58 runs. But, perhaps the most heart-wrenching loss came in the 2016 finals.

Kohli, now the leader of the pack, was having a dream season with the bat, having accumulated a barely believable 973 runs which included four hundred.

He was at it in the finals again. Kohli (54 off 35 balls) and Gayle (76 off 38 balls/0 were going all guns blazing before a middle-order meltdown meant, Kohli would yet again end up on the losing side in the finals.

Published 31 May 2018, 00:59 IST
Fetching more content...