Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

Tracing the journey of all defunct teams in IPL history

  • Some of these teams have performed really well in the IPL on a few occasions
Neelabhra Roy
Top 5 / Top 10
Modified 06 Apr 2018, 01:42 IST

Kochi Tuskers Kerala ended 8th out of the 10 teams in their only appearance at the IPL
Kochi Tuskers Kerala ended 8th out of the 10 teams in their only appearance at the IPL

We are little more than a day away from the commencement of the 11th season of the Indian Premier League. The biggest Twenty20 league is all set to begin tomorrow (7th April) with two of the most successful teams in the tournament history, Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians, going head-to-head in the opening match at Mumbai. Fans will be excited to see former champions Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals back at the tournament after serving their two-year bans

Ever since its inception in 2008, a total of 13 teams have played at the IPL. However, only 8 of them will be taking part this year. The other five teams played a few seasons before being dissolved. So without any further ado, let’s take a look at the journey of all the defunct teams in IPL history.

#1 Kochi Tuskers Kerala (2011)

The Kochi Tuskers Kerala were one of the two new franchises added to the fourth season of the IPL. The team comprised of Mahela Jayawardene who was the captain, VVS Laxman, Brendon McCullum, Muttiah Muralitharan, Brad Hodge and Ravindra Jadeja.

KTK made their IPL debut against Royal Challengers Bangalore at Kochi, which they lost courtesy AB de Villiers' knock of 54. They lost their second match as well before winning their next three matches that included chasing down 183 to beat the Mumbai Indians.

Following their three-match winning streak, KTK's performances began to be inconsistent and they ended the tournament in 8th position out of the 10 teams. Kochi Tuskers Kerala were later terminated by the BCCI for breaching the terms and conditions of the league. According to the conditions, the franchise owners had to pay a 10% bank guarantee of the annual franchise fee of INR 1550 crore. However, due to a dispute between the owners, the franchise did not pay despite BCCI asking them to do so on several occasions.

1 / 5 NEXT
Published 06 Apr 2018, 01:42 IST
Fetching more content...