Favorites Edit

Hockey Men’s player of the year nominations

1.62K   //    07 Dec 2012, 19:14 IST

PERTH, AUSTRALIA – OCTOBER 23: Sardar Singh of India looks to pass the ball during the match between Pakistan and India on day four of the International Superseries at Perth Hockey Stadium on October 23, 2011 in Perth, Australia.

The FIH are set to announce the men’s 2012 Player of the Year and Young Player of the Year tomorrow in Australia on Saturday. The year was jam-packed with hockey action including the London Olympics, Champions Challenge in Argentina and the ongoing Champions Trophy in Melbourne, Australia.

The list of prospective candidates for the award has been prepared after receiving views and inputs from international teams and players. The following are the shortlisted candidates :-

Player of the Year 
Jamie Dwyer (AUS)
Moritz Fürste (GER)
Tobias Hauke (GER)
Robert van der Horst (NED)
Sardar Singh (IND)

Young Player of the Year
Florian Fuchs (GER)
Simon Gougnard (BEL)
Harry Martin (ENG)
Gonzalo Peillat (ARG)
Muhammad Rizwan Junior (PAK)

Indians will be hoping that star player Sardar Singh gets the award on the back of his brilliant performances this past year which have stood out among rather mediocre shows by the rest of his teammates. Who do you think will get the award? Give your vote below:

Topics you might be interested in:
Enthusiastic sports buff often confused about the way Sports organisations function in our country..Breathes Football..adores Tennis.. being an Indian I have to be a cricket Fanatic...A Soft Corner for Indian Hockey along with a little bit of F1 too!
Fetching more content...