Indian Kabaddi Team in Asian Games 2018

Last Modified Aug 28, 2018 14:01 IST

The Indian Kabaddi team are strong favourites for the gold medal at the 2018 Asian Games at Indonesia, both in the men and the women categories. The most successful kabaddi team, the Indian national kabaddi team has won gold medals in all of the Asian Games held till date and also won all of the Kabaddi World Cups.

The Indian kabaddi team’s most recent showing was at the inaugural edition of the Kabaddi Masters in Dubai where they lifted the winners trophy. The 2018 Kabaddi Masters was held from 22-30 June earlier this year, and was participated by six nations - Pakistan, Kenya, South Korea, Argentina, Iran and India. The tournament was organised by the International Kabaddi Federation. India defeated Iran 44-26 in the final, to win the inaugural edition of the Kabaddi Masters.

Indian Kabaddi Team for Asian Games 2018

The Indian Kabaddi Team for Asian Games 2018 was released in June by the Amateur Kabaddi Federation of India. The final 12 member squad had some surprising exclusions in the form of Surender Nada and Surjeet Singh, two of the best defenders in the country.

The exclusion of Surender Nada especially comes off as shocking, as his ability to play as an ankle hold specialist makes him an unique asset. Surjeet Singh on the other hand, had a fantastic season in the Pro League and in the National Championship and the Federation Cup. Both players were an integral part of the team that was victorious at the 2018 Kabaddi Masters.

For the women’s team, the most notable absentee was Abhilasha Mhatre, who is one of the best raiders for India.

However, Indian skipper Ajay Thakur is expected to play a key role and shine, like the numerous previous occasions where he proved himself. Rising stars Rishank Devadiga and Monu Goyat will have have a point to prove, while the experienced Mohit Chillar and the fantastic Girish Maruti Ernak will be marshalling the defence.

2018 Asian Games India Team

Men’s Team:

Girish Maruti Ernak, Deepak Niwas Hooda, Mohit Chhillar, Sandeep Narwal, Pardeep Narwal, Rishank Devadiga, Monu Goyat, Ajay Thakur, Rohit Kumar, Raju Lal Choudhary, Mallesh Gangadhari, Rahul Chaudhari

Standby: Amit Nagar, Maninder Singh

Women’s Team:

Sakshi Kumari, Kavita Devi, Priyanka, Manpreet Kaur, Payel Chowdhury, Ritu Negi, Sonali Vishnu Shingate, Sayali Sanjay KeriPale, Randeep Kaur Khehra, Shalini Pathak, Usha Rani Narasimhaiah, Madhu

Standby: Priyanka, Shama Parveen