• Sports News
  • Cricket
  • IPL Auction 2020
  • IPL Auction Live Updates: Live commentary, latest news, list of players bought and unsold, purse remaining

IPL Auction Live Updates: Live commentary, latest news, list of players bought and unsold, purse remaining

By Sportskeeda Desk | Last ModifiedDec 19, 2019 21:20 IST

The leadup to the player auction will begin at 2.30 PM IST today.


21:20 (IST)19 DEC 2019

Okay, the fat lady has sung. That's that from the auction. We've had a lot of fun bringing you all the updates today. Do stick around for all the fallout, rumours and much more from the action. This is Amar Anand, Prasen Moudgal, Kingshuk Kusari, Alan Jose (loan addition to our Cricket team today - thank you, Alan) and myself, Habil Ahmed, signing off. Thank you for bearing with us! 

21:19 (IST)19 DEC 2019

So, this is the final list of all the buys that the teams have made for the IPL 2020. It has been an excellent auction in terms of team strategy and cut-price buys. It is imperative to say that players like Jimmy Neesham, David Miller and Tom Banton would probably never be bought this cheap at any other auction, at any other time. Teams with a big purse have gone for a complete rehaul, whereas teams like SRH and CSK have tried to fine-tune on their existing set-up.

On that note, this is how it looks at the end of this auction.

RCB - Aaron Finch, Chris Morris, Dale Steyn, Pavan Deshpande, Isuru Udana, Kane Richardson, Shabaz Ahmed, Joshua Phillippe
MI - Chris Lynn, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Mohsin Khan, Saurabh Tiwary, Digvijay Deshmukh, Prince Balwant Rai Singh
KKR - Eoin Morgan, Pat Cummins, Rahul Tripathy, Varun Chakravarty, M Siddharth, Chris Green, Nikhil Naik, Tom Banton, Pravin Tambe
DC - Jason Roy, Chris Woakes, Alex Carey, Mohit Sharma, Tushar Deshpande, Lalit Yadav, Shimron Hetmyer, Marcus Stoinis,
RR - Robin Uthappa, Andrew Tye, Jaydev Unadkat, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Anuj Rawat, Akash Singh, Kartik Tyagi, David Miller, Oshane Thomas, Aniruddha Joshi, Tom Curran
CSK - Sam Curran, Piyush Chawla, Josh Hazlewood, R Sai Kishore
KXIP - Glenn Maxwell, Sheldon Cottrell, Deepak Hooda, Ishan Porel, Ravi Bishnoi, James Neesham, Chris Jordan, Tajinder Dhillon, Prabhsimran Singh
SRH - Virat Singh, Priyam Garg, Mitchell Marsh, Sandeep Bavanaka, Fabian Allen, Abdul Samad, Sanjay Yadav

20:54 (IST)19 DEC 2019

It's done, it is finally done and the final IPL auction of the decade ends with Isuru Udana being bought by none other than Royal Challengers Bangalore. 
Here are the players who were brought in the accelerated round of the IPL Auction 2020.

KKR - Nikhil Naik

RCB - Dale Steyn, Shabaz Ahmed, Isuru Udana  

RR - Andrew Tye, Tom Curran

DC -  Lalit Yadav

20:49 (IST)19 DEC 2019

Good 'ol Hugh Edmeades taking requests. No requests? Okay. We're done! 

20:49 (IST)19 DEC 2019

Kesrick Williams. What just happened?

He's been skipped and Vinay Kumar has been summoned.

Vinay Kumar is UNSOLD. 

20:48 (IST)19 DEC 2019

Sri Lankan Isuru Udana invites a bid from RCB. Sold at his base price of INR 50L!

20:47 (IST)19 DEC 2019

Tom Curran is picked up for his base price of 1 Crore by the Rajasthan Royals. 

20:47 (IST)19 DEC 2019

Nikhil Naik is sold to KKR for INR 20L.

20:47 (IST)19 DEC 2019

RCB pick up uncapped wicket-keeper Shahbaz Ahamad for his base price of 20 lakh. 

20:46 (IST)19 DEC 2019

Up next is Lalit Yadav.

...and sold DC for INR 20L.

20:45 (IST)19 DEC 2019

Andrew Tye is picked up for his base price of 1 Crore by the Rajasthan Royals. 

20:45 (IST)19 DEC 2019

First up is Dale Steyn. RCB make a bid.

Sold at his base price of INR 2 Cr.

20:44 (IST)19 DEC 2019

We're back for the accelerated auction and we've got about 10 players left in the auction.

20:34 (IST)19 DEC 2019

20:35 (IST)19 DEC 2019

20:33 (IST)19 DEC 2019

20:30 (IST)19 DEC 2019


That brings us to the end of this segment.

The teams will now be given an opportunity to pick a maximum of three players who they would want to add to their rosters.

The accelerated auction will begin in 10 minutes from now.  

20:30 (IST)19 DEC 2019

There are so many steals in this round. 
Fabian Allen, the much hyped-up Tom Banton and Chris Green have gone for a cut price. Teams look like they are happy with their combinations and are buying back up players to complete their squad.

Initially, it was only Chris Jordan who saw a bidding war against his name and was ultimately brought by KXIP at INR 3 crore.
Kane Richardson saw a bidding contest between Challengers and Royals, with RCB clinching him at INR 4 crore.
No big drama per se, but big names like Colin Munro, Dale Steyn, Kesrick Williams, Colin de Grandhomme have been left out of IPL 2020 as of now.
Marcus Stoinis strong comeback into the pool after getting unsold in the early half of the auction. Stoinis was bought by DC at INR 4.8 crores.

SRH - Sandeep Bavanaka, Fabian Allen, Abdul Samad, Sanjay Yadav
KKR - Chris Green, Tom Banton, Pravin Tambe
RCB - Joshua Philippe, Kane Richardson, Pavan Deshpande
MI - Mohsin Khan, Digvijay Deshmukh, Prince Balwant Rai Singh
KXIP - Chris Jordan, Tajinder Dhillon, Prabhsimran Singh
RR - Oshane Thomas, Anirudha Joshi, 
DC -  Mohit Sharma, Tushar Deshpande, Marcus Stoinis
CSK - R Sai Kishore

20:27 (IST)19 DEC 2019

Mark Wood is next up with a base price of 50 lakh - UNSOLD. 

20:26 (IST)19 DEC 2019

Stoinis sold to DC for INR 4.80 Cr.

20:25 (IST)19 DEC 2019

20:23 (IST)19 DEC 2019

Marcus Stoinis is up for grabs again. And triggers a bit of a bidding war right away. RR and DC seem certain that they want him.

Strangely, quite a few laughs being shared by both camps. But the war goes on! It's at INR 4.40 Cr now.

20:21 (IST)19 DEC 2019

Ben Cutting is UNSOLD for the second time today. "

Colin Munro will be missing out from IPL 2020 as well. 

20:21 (IST)19 DEC 2019

R Sai Kishore is sold to CSK at his base price of INR 20L.

20:20 (IST)19 DEC 2019

Tushar Deshpande is next. And SOLD to DC at INR 20L.

20:19 (IST)19 DEC 2019

Prabhsimran Singh is up next.

KXIP begin bidding for their local talent and DC are involved in the bidding war. 

Kings XI Punjab land the final bid at 55 lakh. 

20:19 (IST)19 DEC 2019

Daniel Sams yet again remains UNSOLD and so does K.S. Bharat. 

20:18 (IST)19 DEC 2019

No bids for Daniel Sams. UNSOLD!

20:18 (IST)19 DEC 2019

Shahrukh Khan from Tamil Nadu remains UNSOLD. 

20:17 (IST)19 DEC 2019

Do we have a bid for Pavan Deshpande? The answer is yes. SOLD TO RCB for INR 20L.

20:17 (IST)19 DEC 2019

Rohan Kadam up next. UNSOLD!

20:16 (IST)19 DEC 2019

Andrew Tye remains UNSOLD! 

20:16 (IST)19 DEC 2019


20:15 (IST)19 DEC 2019

Mohit Sharma next. DC open bidding and get their man for INR 50L.

20:14 (IST)19 DEC 2019

No takers for Kusal Perera once again.

20:14 (IST)19 DEC 2019

Colin de Grandhomme is next. 

RCB, interested? Nah, they'll pass. 

20:13 (IST)19 DEC 2019

Sanjay Yadav sold to SRH for INR 20L.

20:13 (IST)19 DEC 2019

Prince Balwant Rai Singh up next. Time taken to type his name was longer than the auction for him. Sheesh!

SOLD to MI for INR 20L.

20:12 (IST)19 DEC 2019

Mumbai Indians sign Digvijay Deshmukh for his base price of 20 lakh.

20:11 (IST)19 DEC 2019

Saurabh Dubey is UNSOLD. So is Aniruddha Joshi.

20:11 (IST)19 DEC 2019

20:11 (IST)19 DEC 2019

20:10 (IST)19 DEC 2019

Vaibhav Arora unsold. No surprise considering he's never played a T20. 

20:10 (IST)19 DEC 2019

George Garton goes unsold too.

20:09 (IST)19 DEC 2019

Kesrick Williams now. Virat, are you watching?


20:09 (IST)19 DEC 2019

Hobart Hurricanes' youngster Nathan Ellis is UNSOLD. 

20:08 (IST)19 DEC 2019

18-year-old Abdul Samad is sold for INR 20L to SRH.

20:08 (IST)19 DEC 2019

Sujit Nayak is up for grabs. But goes unsold.

20:07 (IST)19 DEC 2019

Tajinder Dhillon is next up for grabs. 

KXIP make the opening bid of 20 lakhs and land their man at base price!

20:07 (IST)19 DEC 2019

Yudhvir Charak is unsold as well.
chat-icon Live Chat online