Atlanta Braves


Full NameAtlanta Braves

Nick NameThe Bravos


GroundTruist Park

Team Owner(s)Liberty Media


The Atlanta Braves are an American professional baseball team based in the Atlanta metropolitan area. The Braves compete in Major League Baseball (MLB) as a member club of the National League (NL) East division. The team played its home games at Atlanta–Fulton County Stadium from 1966 to 1996, and at Turner Field from 1997 to 2016. Since 2017, their home stadium has been Truist Park (formerly SunTrust Park), located 10 miles (16 km) northwest of downtown Atlanta in Cumberland, Georgia. The Braves play spring training games at CoolToday Park in North Port, Florida.

The name "Braves", which was first used in 1912, originates from a term for a Native American warrior. They are nicknamed "the Bravos", and often referred to as "America's Team" in reference to the team's games being broadcast nationally on TBS from the 1970s until 2007, giving the team a nationwide fan base.

Atlanta Braves: History

The Braves were founded in Boston, Massachusetts, in 1871, as the Boston Red Stockings (not to be confused with the Boston Red Sox). The team states it is "the oldest continuously operating professional sports franchise in America."

After various name changes, the team eventually began operating as the Boston Braves, which lasted for most of the first half of the 20th century. Then, in 1953, the team moved to Milwaukee, Wisconsin, and became the Milwaukee Braves. Following their move to Atlanta in 1966, the team became the Atlanta Braves.

Atlanta Braves in recent years

From 1991 to 2005, the Braves were one of the most successful teams in baseball, winning an unprecedented 14 consecutive division titles (except for the strike-shortened 1994 season in which there were no official division champions). The Braves won the National League West division from 1991 to 1993, and after divisional realignment, the National League East division from 1995 to 2005. They returned to the playoffs as the National League Wild Card in 2010.

The Braves advanced to the World Series five times in the 1990s (1991, 1992, 1995, 1996, and 1999), winning the title in 1995 against the Cleveland Indians. Since their debut in the National League in 1876, the franchise has won an MLB record 21 divisional titles, 18 National League pennants, and four World Series championships – in 1914 as the Boston Braves, in 1957 as the Milwaukee Braves, and in 1995 and 2021 as the Atlanta Braves. The Braves are the only Major League Baseball franchise to have won the World Series in three different home cities.

Atlanta Braves: World Series Championships

Over the 117 years since the inception of the World Series, the Braves franchise has won a total of four World Series Championships, with at least one in each of the three cities they have played in.

SeasonManager Opponent Series ScoreRecord
1914 (Boston)George StallingsPhiladelphia Athletics4–094–59
1957 (Milwaukee)Fred HaneyNew York Yankees4–395–59
1995 (Atlanta)Bobby CoxCleveland Indians4–290–54
2021 (Atlanta)Brian SnitkerHouston Astros4–288–73
Total World Series championships:4

Atlanta Braves: 2022 roster


Jesse Chavez

Bryce Elder

Max Dried

Raised Iglesias

Kenley Jansen

Dylan Lee

Tyler Matzek

Collin McHugh

A.J. Minter

Charlie Morton

Jake Odorizzi

Jackson Stephens

Spencer Strider

Kyle Wright


William Contreras

Travis d'Arnaud


Orlando Arcia

Dylan Bannon

Vaughn Grissom

Matt Olson

Austin Riley

Dansby Swanson


Ronald Acuna Jr.

Robbie Grossman

Michael Harris II

Guillermo Heredia

Eddie Rosario

Designated Hitter

Marcell Ozuna

Fetching more content...