New Zealand Women's Hockey Team


The New Zealand Women's hockey team currently ranks fourth in the International Hockey Federation (FIH) Women’s list.


The team comes under the tutelage of the Hockey New Zealand and Oceania Hockey Federation.

Although its first major international tournament was the 1983 FIH Women's Hockey World Cup, the Black Sticks’ maiden tournament victory came in the 2007 Oceania Cup.


In 2018, it is the eighth World Cup appearance for New Zealand with the best performance coming in 1987, when the team finished fourth.

2018 World Cup Squad

1) Tarryn Davey

2) Samantha Harrison

3) Olivia Merry

4) Frances Davies

5) Amy Robinson

6) Sally Rutherford (GK)

7) Brooke Neal

8) Ella Gunson

9) Samantha Charlton

10) Grace O'Hanlon (GK)

11) Liz Thompson

12) Rose Keddell

13) Kelsey Smith

14) Shiloh Gloyn

15) Madison Doar

16) Louisa Tuilotolava

17) Stacey Michelsen (C)

18) Anita McLaren

New Zealand is placed in Pool D with Australia, Belgium and Japan in the 2018 World Cup.

After finishing fifth in 2014, New Zealand may well snatch a podium finish considering its historic gold in the 2018 Gold Coast Commonwealth Games and the fourth-place finish in the 2012 and 2016 Olympics.

Fetching more content...