Philadelphia Phillies


Full NamePhiladelphia Phillies

Nick NamePhils


GroundCitizens Bank Park

Team Owner(s)John Middleton



The Philadelphia Phillies are an American professional baseball team based in Philadelphia. They are a National League (NL) East division member and compete in Major League Baseball (MLB). The team's home stadium has been the Citizens Bank Park, located in the South Philadelphia Sports Complex since 2004. The Phillies are the oldest continuous same-name, same-city franchise in American professional sports. They are also known as the “The Fightin’ Phils” and “The Fightins” by fans and commentators.

Philadelphia Phillies: History

The franchise was founded in Philadelphia in 1883, replacing the team from Worcester, Massachusetts, in the National League. The team has played at several stadiums in the city, beginning with Recreation Park and continuing at Baker Bowl; Shibe Park, which was later renamed Connie Mack Stadium. They are one of the more successful franchises since the start of the Divisional Era in Major League Baseball. The Phillies have won 11 division titles, including five consecutive division titles from 2007 to 2011; these are ranked sixth among all teams and fourth in the National League. The team has only won two World Series titles, winning their first in 1980, and their second in 2008.

Philadelphia Phillies in the Recent Years

From 1883 to 2021, the Phillies' overall win-loss record is 9,935–11,112 (.472).[6] Despite their longevity and rabid fan base, the Phillies are a team historically associated with futility, being the first American sports franchise to amass over 10,000 losses. The franchise holds the world record for most ever losses by a single franchise in any professional sport. They rank sixth among all teams and fourth in the National League with 11 division titles won between 2007 to 2011. They are one of only two teams without a wildcard birth. Hall of Fame third baseman Mike Schmidt is widely considered the franchise's greatest player of all time.

Philadelphia Phillies Postseason History

YearRound OpponentResult
2011League Divisional SeriesSt. Louis CardinalsL, 2-3
2010League Championship SeriesSan Francisco GiantsL, 2-4
2010League Divisional SeriesCincinnati RedsW, 3-0
2009World SeriesNew York YankeesL, 2-4
2009League Championship SeriesLos Angeles DodgersW, 4-1
2009League Divisional SeriesColorado RocketsW, 3-1
2008World SeriesTampa Bay RaysW, 4-1
2008League Championship SeriesLos Angeles DodgersW, 4-1
2008League Divisional SeriesMilwaukee BrewersW, 3-1
2007League Divisional SeriesColorado RocketsL, 0-3

1993World SeriesToronto Blue JaysL, 2-4
1993League Championship SeriesAtlanta BravesW, 4-2
1983World SeriesBaltimore OriolesL, 1-4
1983League Championship SeriesLos Angeles DodgersW, 3-1
1980 World SeriesKansas City RoyalsW, 4-2
1980 League Championship SeriesHouston Astros W, 3-2
1978League Championship SeriesLos Angeles DodgersL, 1-3
1977League Championship SeriesLos Angeles DodgersL, 1-3
1976League Championship SeriesCincinnati RedsL, 0-3
1950World SeriesNew York YankeesL, 0-4
1915World SeriesBoston Red SoxL, 1-4

Current Philadelphia Phillies Roster - MLB 2022

Pitchers Catchers Infielders Outfielders Designated Hitters
Zach EflinDonny Sands Alec BohmDalton GuthrieBryce Harper
Kyle GibsonJ. T. RealmutoRhys HoskinsBrandon Marsh
Aaron NolaGarrett StubbsNick MatonMatt Vierling
Ranger Suarez Yairo MunozKyle Schwarber
Noah Syndergaard Jean Segura
Zack Wheeler Bryson Stott
Jose Alvarado
Andrew Bellatti
Connor Brogdon
Chris Devenski
Seranthony Dominguez
Bailey Falter
David Robertson
Nick Nelson

Owner: John Middleton

Home Stadium: Citizens Bank Park

Manager: Rob Thomson

Bench Coach: Mike Calitri

Pitching: Caleb Cotham

Pitching Assistant: Brian Kaplan

Bullpen: David Lundquist

Bullpen Catcher: Brad Flanders

Hitting: Kevin Long

Infield Coach: Bobby Dickerson

Bullpen Catcher: Hector Rabago

First Base: Paco Figueroa

Third Base: Dusty Wathan

Fetching more content...