England vs Sri Lanka World Cup Head to Head Stats

Last Modified May 27, 2024 15:57 IST
England26 runsSri LankaSharjahUAE1 Nov 2021
England10 runsSri LankaDelhiIndia26 Mar 2016
England6 wicketsSri LankaChattogramBangladesh27 Mar 2014
Sri Lanka19 runsEnglandPallekeleSri Lanka1 Oct 2012
England7 wicketsSri LankaGros IsletWest Indies13 May 2010

England have dominated the head-to-head battle against 2014 world champions Sri Lanka over the course of the last eight editions of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup.

The two sides have met five times at the global showpiece event, with the Three Lions emerging victorious on four instances.

Their first meeting took place in 2010, where the eventual champions defeated Lanka in the semi-final by seven wickets.

Sri Lanka’s only T20 WC win over England came during the 2012 edition, where the Lions crushed the 2010 winners by 19 runs, thanks to a five-wicket-haul from the legendary Lasith Malinga.

Since then, it’s been one-way traffic, with the English team emerging victorious by six wickets (in Chattogram, 2014), 10 runs (in Delhi, 2016), and by 26 runs in Sharjah during the 2021 edition.

The two teams are locked in different groups in the upcoming T20 World Cup, which will take place in the Caribbean islands and the United States of America between June 02-29, 2024. It will be interesting to see of these two sides meet each other in the semi-final.

App download animated image Get the free App now