Favorites Edit

Indian Premier League: Top 10 Coaches in IPL History

Deepak P
Top 5 / Top 10
34.75K   //    Timeless

Stephen Fleming is one of the most successful coaches in IPL history.
Stephen Fleming is one of the most successful coaches in IPL history.

The Indian Premier League has taken over the T20 cricket since 2008 and there have been around 31 head coaches for the different IPL franchises over the period of 11 years. While many of the coaches excelled in their stints, many could not succeed in the IPL. Some of the high profile head coaches of IPL franchises who could not achieve reasonable success include Eric Simons, Shaun Pollock, John Buchanan, Martin Crowe, Allan Donald, and Gary Kirsten among others.

Three coaches of Kolkata Knight Riders and Mumbai Indians each, two coaches of Chennai Super Kings and one from Hyderabad and Bangalore are part of this list of the 10 most successful IPL Coaches.

Here's the list of the Top 10 Coaches in IPL history on the basis of win percentage -

# 10 Dav Whatmore

Dav Whatmore
Dav Whatmore

Dav Whatmore coached Kolkata Knight Riders for two seasons of IPL in 2010 and 2011 and the Kolkata side won 15 matches out of the total 29 matches played under him. In IPL 2010, KKR could not reach the top four stage and ended up sixth in the league; while in IPL 2011, KKR reached the playoffs and lost to the Mumbai Indians in the eliminator.

Presently Whatmore is the coach of Kerala Ranji Cricket team and has rejuvenated Kerala in the recent years to take on established Ranji Trophy big shots. The fact that after his stint with KKR, he was not offered a role at any other franchise is surprising considering his win percentage and stature.

Dav Whatmore also has the pedigree of having coached Sri Lanka, Pakistan and Bangladesh. The memorable one being taking Sri Lanka to be the World Cup win in 1996.

His winning percentage of 51.72 makes him the 10th best coach in the IPL history.

1 / 10 NEXT