New User posted their first comment

IPL 2016, Stats: Virat Kohli masterclass hands Royal Challengers Bangalore 7-wicket win over Rising Pune Supergiants

Virat Kohli RCB IPL 2016
Virat Kohli (R) scored his second century of the IPL season to give RCB a thrilling win over Pune
Davis James
Modified 07 May 2016, 20:11 IST

Royal Challengers Bangalore won their match of the season after captain, Virat Kohli put in a top quality performance to help his side chase down 192 in 20 overs. The 27-year-old scored his second hundred of the Indian Premier League (IPL) season to lead his side to a seven-wicket win over the MS Dhoni-led Pune side.

Ajinkya Rahane scored another valuable knock as he made his sixth half-century of the season to help Pune to a fairly competitive total. Shane Watson was the best bowler for the home side as he picked up three wickets.

In reply, Kohli showed why he is considered as one of the best chasers around in T20 cricket. He scored an unbeaten knock of 108 in just 58 balls after being ably supported by Shane Watson and KL Rahul.

Here are the major stats from the game:

1 – This was the first 50-run stand for the opening wicket for the Royal Challengers Bangalore in this IPL. RCB are the last team to put up an opening stand in the IPL.

1 – Virat Kohli becomes the first captain to score two IPL centuries.

2 – Virat Kohli became the second player to score at least six 50-plus knocks in two seasons of the IPL. David Warner is the other player to have done the same.

2 – Virat Kohli became the second player to score two IPL centuries in a season. Chris Gayle was the first.

3 – Royal Challengers Bangalore bowled only three overs that had no boundaries conceded. They conceded at least one boundary in each of the remaining 17 overs.


3 – Shane Watson became the third player in this IPL to scored 30-plus and pick up 3 wickets in a match.

4 – Ajinkya Rahane has scored 400-plus runs in an IPL season for the fourth time in his career. He shares the record with Virender Sehwag, Chris Gayle, David Warner  and Virat Kohli.

5 – AB de Villiers scored a total of five runs in the last two IPL innings.

5 – Virat Kohli made his fifth score of 75-plus in an IPL season. Only Chris Gayle has achieved the same.

6 – Ajinkya Rahane has scored six fifty-plus scores in this IPL. He is only the third batsman from India after Gautam Gambhir and Virat Kohli to achieve the feat.

7 – Virat Kohli became the seventh batsman to reach the landmark of reaching 6000 runs in T20s.

8 – Virat Kohli took just 8 innings to reach 500 runs in this IPL. Chris Gayle was the fastest to 500 runs when he took 500 runs in 9 innings in 2011.

9 – Lokesh Rahul has now scored 9 sixes in this IPL. This is more than the number of sixes he had hit until the end of the previous IPL.

10 – Royal Challengers Bangalore scored only 10 runs in the first three overs of the powerplay. In the next three overs, they scored 36 runs.

14 – Chris Jordan became the 14th player from England to play in the IPL.

108* – Virat Kohli's score in this match is his highest score in T20s.

184 – Virat Kohli took 184 innings to reach the 6000-run mark in T20s. This is the second fastest for any bastman, after Chris Gayle.

220.50 – Virat Kohli's batting average in winning chases in T20s in 2016.

Published 07 May 2016, 18:07 IST
Fetching more content...
Get the free App now
❤️ Favorites Edit