Favorites Edit

IPL 2018: Batting and bowling records from each edition

Vaibhav Joshi
Top 5 / Top 10
10.72K   //    11 Mar 2018, 15:13 IST

Mumbai Indians celebrate with IPL 2017 trophy IPL 2018
Mumbai Indians: The most successful IPL team

The 11th edition of IPL is all set to begin on 7th of April at the iconic Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai where the defending champions, Mumbai Indians will take on two-time champions Chennai Super Kings who have returned to the league after serving a two-year ban. 

This cricket carnival has witnessed a lot of records with the bat as well as with the ball. As we head into the 11th edition of the Indian Premier League, let us have a look at all the top records from 2008 to 2017.

2008 Champions: Rajasthan Royals

IPL 2008 champions
IPL 2008 Champions: Rajasthan Royals

Rajasthan Royals, under the tutelage of world-class Australian leg-spinner Shane Warne, won the inaugural edition of the tournament after defeating MS Dhoni's CSK by three wickets in the final. Royals did not have an incredible start to the tournament but by the end of the league stage, they were on top of the points table.

Batting Records

Most runs: Kings XI Punjab's Shaun Marsh was the highest scorer in the inaugural edition of the tournament with 616 runs in 11 matches averaging 68.44.

Most sixes: Sanath Jayasuriya from Mumbai Indians hit the most number of sixes (31) in the first edition of the league. 

Highest individual score: Kolkata Knight Riders' Brendon McCullum slammed an unbeaten 158 off just 73 balls in the first ever IPL match against RCB. 

Bowling Records

Most wickets: Rajasthan Royals' Sohail Tanvir was the highest wicket-taker in the first edition of IPL. He took 22 wickets.

Best bowling figures: Sohail Tanvir’s 6 for 14 against CSK was the best bowling figure in 2008.

1 / 10 NEXT
Topics you might be interested in:
Vaibhav Joshi
Fetching more content...