New User posted their first comment

CSK team 2018: Full list of players bought by Chennai Super Kings

CSK used their RTM to get back Faf du Plessis and Dwayne Bravo
CSK used their RTM to get back Faf du Plessis and Dwayne Bravo
Modified 28 Jan 2018, 16:13 IST

Chennai Super Kings' return after a two-year hiatus saw them go for an interesting strategy during the IPL Auction 2018 in Bengaluru. Having already retained three players, they used their two RTMs to bring back Dwayne Bravo and Faf du Plessis.

In total, they bought, they bought 22 players at the Auction in Bengaluru and have a squad of 25 players, including eight overseas players to choose from going into IPL 2018. Despite the fact that they filled their complete quota of players in the squad, they ended the auction with INR 6.5 crore in the bank, which is more than any other side.

List of players bought by the CSK at the IPL 2018 auction – 

Kedar Jadhav - ₹7.8 crore

Dwayne Bravo - ₹6.4 crore

Karn Sharma - ₹5 crore

Shane Watson- ₹4 crore

Shardul Thakur - ₹2.6 crore

Ambati Rayudu - ₹2.2 crore

Harbhajan Singh - ₹2 crore


Murali Vijay - ₹2 crore

Faf Du Plessis - ₹1.6 crore

Mark Wood - ₹1.5 crore

Imran Tahir - ₹1 crore

Sam Billings - ₹1 crore

Deepak Chahar - ₹80 lakh

Mitchell Santner - ₹50 lakh

Lungisani Ngidi - ₹50 lakh 

Asif K M - ₹40 lakh

N Jagadeesan - ₹20 lakh

Kanishk Seth - ₹20 lakh 

Monu singh - ₹20 lakh

Dhruv Shorey - ₹20 lakh

Kshitiz Sharma - ₹20 lakh

Chaitanya Bishnoi - ₹20 lakh

Going into the auction, CSK new that they needed a quartet of foreigners that will complete the balance of the side along with Indian pacers, openers nad middle-order batsman.

At the Auction

The two-time IPL champions didn't go for broke and instead just went after the players they really wanted. They brought Murali Vijay at his base price and the England duo of Sam Billings and Mark Wood were also bought for their base price. They had specific needs and went for players that they thought will fill them and ended up getting some steals on domestic players.

Despite already having Ravindra Jadeja, CSK went for three more front-line international spinners in Harbhajan Singh, Karn Sharma and Imran Tahir. As far as the pace department is concerned, CSK went for domestic talent in Deepak Chahar and Shardul Thakur.


Towards the CSK also went for plenty of uncapped players. They got in local boy N Jagadeesan, one of the stars of Delhi's victorious Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy campaign Dhruv Shorey and the likes of Monu Singh and Kanishk Seth, who impressed in the domestic T20 tournament for Jharkhand and Bengal.

CSK final squad for IPL 2018
 – MS Dhoni (C), Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, Sam Billings, Faf du PlessisHarbhajan Singh, Dwayne Bravo, Shane Watson, Kedar Jadhav, Ambati Rayudu, Imran Tahir, Shardul Thakur, Jagadeesan Narayan, Karn Sharma, Mitchell Santner, Deepak Chahar, Asif K M, Lungisani Ngidi, Dhruv Shorey, Murali Vijay, Mark Wood, Kanishk Seth, Kshitiz Sharma, Monu Singh, Chaitanya Bishnoi
Published 28 Jan 2018, 16:13 IST
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now
❤️ Favorites Edit