Favorites Edit

IPL 2018, Match 29: RCB vs KKR, Match preview, head-to-head, pitch report and key stats

Vaibhav Joshi
2.36K   //    29 Apr 2018, 15:30 IST

It will prove to be a crucial encounter for both the teams
It will prove to be a crucial encounter for both the teams

The three-time IPL finalists, Royal Challengers from Bangalore, will contest the two-time IPL champions, Kolkata Knight Riders, for the 29th match of the season.

Both the teams, RCB and KKR, will be entering the game with a loss in their previous encounters against Chennai and Delhi respectively.

Hovering at the bottom half of points table, RCB will look for rejuvenation of the season to begin from this fixture, for them to stay alive in the tournament. Royal Challengers are still struggling to find their right combination. Thus, with a home game scheduled for them, RCB would look to settle for the right combination which could win them games.

Meanwhile, KKR's ride has been very bumpy as they started the tournament with a series of victories but lost their way in the middle with two losses back to back. However, with the game against RCB, KKR would look to revamp their structure for the playoffs. 

Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Kolkata Knight Riders Match 29 Details:

Match Date: 29 April 2018, Sunday

Match Timing: 20:00 IST, 14:30 GMT

Match Venue: M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru, India

Expected Crowd Turnout: The M. Chinnaswamy Stadium will be dipped in the colours of red. Thus, a house-full game is expected with a total crowd attendance of 37,700.


There is no forecast of rain. The humidity levels will click around 37%. The skies will be clear with winds blowing from South-East at a speed of 7 km per hour. Thus, it is expected to be a pleasant evening in Bengaluru.


Pitch report

The M. Chinnaswamy track is not expected to change much from the game between RCB and CSK. The pitch will be a slow turner with not much of dew coming in. Spinners will dominate the game if they hit the right areas.


KKR 12 - RCB 9. KKR have a good edge over RCB with twelve wins in their pack as compared to nine wins for the latter. When these two teams met earlier this season, Kolkata Knight Riders registered an emphatic 4-wicket win.

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) IPL 2018 Squad:

RCB would hope to get back to their winning ways

Quinton de Kock (wk), Virat Kohli (c), Manan Vohra, AB de Villiers, Mandeep Singh, Colin de Grandhomme, Chris Woakes, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Sarfaraz Khan, Brendon McCullum, Parthiv Patel, Moeen Ali, Kulwant Khejroliya, Aniket Choudhary, Navdeep Saini, Murugan Ashwin, Pawan Negi, Corey Anderson, Aniruddha Joshi, Pavan Deshpande, and Tim Southee.

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) IPL 2018 Squad:

Dinesh Karthik has managed their troops very well
KKR would hope to get back to their merry run in the tournament

Robin Uthappa (wk), Dinesh Karthik (c), Chris Lynn, Sunil Narine, Nitish Rana, Andre Russell, Shubman Gill, Mitchell Johnson, Piyush Chawla, Kuldeep Yadav, Vinay Kumar, Apoorv Wankhade, Rinku Singh, Shivam Mavi, Cameron Delport, Javon Searles, Tom Curran, Ishank Jaggi, and Prasidh Krishna.

All the stats and numbers to look out ahead of the match No. 29 between RCB and KKR:

3 – AB de Villiers needs to hit three more sixes to surpass Rohit Sharma on the list of most IPL sixes. Smashing these sixes, de Villiers will acquire the second position on the list of most IPL sixes.

4 – Virat Kohli needs four more sixes to surpass MS Dhoni on the list of most IPL sixes. Smashing these sixes, Virat Kohli will acquire the fifth position on the list of most IPL sixes.

4 – AB de Villiers vs Piyush Chawla: Chawla has dismissed de Villiers four times - the joint-most he has got out to any bowler.

31 – Robin Uthappa is 31 runs away from becoming the second player to score 2000 runs for KKR in IPL. He is also 59 away from the milestone of 4000 IPL runs.

44 – AB de Villiers requires 44 more runs to surpass MS Dhoni on the list of most IPL runs. Scoring these 44 runs, AB de Villiers will become the eight highest run-scorer in the history of IPL.

78 – Virat Kohli needs 78 more runs to surpass Suresh Raina on the list of most IPL runs. Amassing these 78 runs, Virat Kohli will become the all-time highest run-getter in the history of IPL.

Topics you might be interested in:
Vaibhav Joshi
Fetching more content...