Favorites Edit

IPL 2018: Interesting events witnessed in both the IPL and ISL 

Ashwan Rao
Top 5 / Top 10
2.40K   //    30 Mar 2018, 04:04 IST

Sachin and Sourav
Good banter

Both the Indian Premier League and Indian Super League have contributed much to Indian cricket and Indian football respectively. They have brought a whole new dimension by attracting lots of foreign stars to India. India has attained a global status now in the World of Sports, thanks to the IPL and ISL.

The attention of the World is now upon us during the duration of these two famous leagues. Both the tournaments garnered record viewership in a very short span. The ISL though is just four seasons old compared to the IPL which is now a decade old. Let us now look at some interesting events that took place in both the IPL and ISL.

#3 Season four finalists- Chennai and Bangalore

2011 IPL final
2011 IPL final

The fourth edition of the IPL took place in 2011. The Royal Challengers Bangalore and Chennai Super Kings were the most dominant sides in the league stages of the tournament. They even went on to meet each other in the grand finale on May 28, 2011, at the MA Chidambaram stadium in Chepauk. The Chennai Super Kings batted first and scored 205-5 in 20 overs, thanks to the half-centuries from the openers Michael Hussey and Murali Vijay.

In reply, RCB managed to score 147-8 in 20 overs, thereby losing the match by a margin of 58 runs. The Chennai Super Kings were thus crowned the champions of the IPL season four. The fourth edition of the Indian Super League was played from November 17, 2017- March 17, 2018. The Chennaiyin FC and Bengaluru FC met in the final at Sree Kanteerava stadium in Bengaluru.

Two of the country’s best forwards- Sunil Chhetri and Jeje Lalpekhlua fought for the season four title in the finals at Bengaluru. The Chennaiyin FC dominated most parts of the game and won by a 3-2 margin. The Henrique Sereno led side were thus crowned the ISL season four winners. Coincidentally, both the Chennai Super Kings and Chennaiyin FC won their second IPL and ISL titles respectively in the fourth edition and against the same opponents- Bangalore. 

1 / 3 NEXT
Topics you might be interested in:
Ashwan Rao
Sports- Love of my life
Fetching more content...