Favorites Edit

IPL 2019: Looking ahead to the KKR vs SRH encounter

Ajay Nair
5.90K   //    02 Mar 2019, 19:57 IST

Kane Williamson vs Dinesh Karthik
Kane Williamson vs Dinesh Karthik

The Dinesh Karthik-led Kolkata Knight Riders will take on the Kane Williamson-led Sunrisers Hyderabad at Eden Gardens, Kolkata on March 24 at 4 pm. Both teams have high scoring batsmen and wicket taking bowlers, and both also have a good line-up of international players, so it promises to be an exciting contest.

In 2018 the Sunrisers Hyderabad played the final of the IPL against Chennai Super Kings and secured the runner-up spot. KKR, on the other hand, finished as the second runners-up.

KKR have won two IPL titles (2012 and 2014) while SRH have won one (2016). Both the teams had a better than expected season last year, and they will hope to continue in the same vein this year.

Head to Head

KKR and SRH have played 15 matches against each other. Nine of those have been won by KKR and six by SRH.

In the last five matches, Kolkata have won two while Hyderabad have won three.

In Qualifier 2 of last year's IPL, these two teams faced off against each other and Sunrisers Hyderabad ended up winning by 14 runs.

Key players

Both the teams have a few new players who can make a huge impact
Both the teams have a few new players who can make a huge impact


Karthik was their leading run-scorer last season as he notched up 498 runs in 16 matches. He led KKR to a 3rd place finish in the points table last season and left many fans impressed with his captaincy skills.


Andre Russell scored 316 runs in 14 matches. Russell is capable of hitting big sixes, and is also a fantastic fielder and can bowl brilliantly in the death overs.

Sunil Narine has been the backbone of the KKR team ever since he has joined the team. He scored 357 runs in 16 innings last season, and also 17 wickets. Narine's aggressive batting in the powerplay overs can boost the run rate for the team. Narine was also a very crucial payer during the two seasons when KKR won the title.


Kane Williamson is one of the best batsmen in the world today. He was their top run scorer last season with 735 runs in 17 innings. He also did a great job leading his team on the field and finishing at the top of the points table.

Rashid Khan is currently one of the best leg spinners in the world. He took 21 wickets in 17 innings last season, and was extremely economical too.

David Warner has been one of the best batsmen in the history of the IPL. He scored 848 runs in the 2016 season to lead his team to the title. When he is batting, the scoreboard just never stops ticking.