⚡️ Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

IPL Auction 2019: Top 3 well-balanced squads

Abdul Rahman
Top 5 / Top 10
21 Dec 2018, 11:29 IST

#2 Mumbai Indians

Mumbai Indians
Mumbai Indians

Alongside CSK, Mumbai Indians are one of the most successful teams in the IPL. However, in the last season, they haven't performed according to their reputation and finished at number 5 in the group stage.

Mumbai Indians had traded Quinton de Kock from RCB and Jayant Yadav from Delhi Capitals in the trade window, while they had released Saurabh Tiwary, Pradeep Sangwan, Mohsin Khan, MD Nidheesh, Sharad Lumba, Tajinder Singh Dhillon, JP Duminy, Pat Cummins, Mustafizur Rahman and Akila Dananjaya from their squad.

Mumbai Indians bought six players in the auction. They surprised everyone by picking up Yuvraj Singh at his base price of Rs 1 crore. Left arm pacer Barinder Sran was their biggest buy of Rs 3.4 crore. In addition to this they've also bought Lasith Malinga, Anmolpreet Singh, Rasikh Salam and Pankaj Jaiswal.

As always MI's squad is looking quite good on paper. Their batting department looks solid. They have some very good batsmen like Rohit Sharma, Evin Lewis, Quinton de Kock, Suryakumar Yadav, Iashan Kishan and Yuvraj Singh. Their captain Rohit Sharma will be their most important batsman in the upcoming edition of IPL.

Mumbai Indians have an array of hard hitting all-rounders in Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Ben Cutting and Kieron Pollard. So MI will expect these four to contribute in all the three departments.

Their bowling department looks promising as well. They've some very good fast bowlers like Jasprit Bumrah, Mitchell McClenaghan, Lasith Malinga, Jason Behrendroff, Adam Milne and Barinder Sran in their squad.

As far as their spin department is concerned, it looks a little bit inexperienced. Mumbai possess Krunal Pandya, Mayank Markande, Rahul Chahar, Anukul Roy and Jayant Yadav in their spin department. Last season Mayank Markande emerged as a surprise package and performed exceedingly well. So Mumbai Indians will expect him to repeat the same in this season as well.

Full Squad

Rohit Sharma (c), Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah, Krunal Pandya, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Mayank Markande, Rahul Chahar, Anukul Roy, Siddhesh Lad, Aditya Tare, Quinton de Kock, Evin Lewis, Kieron Pollard, Ben Cutting, Mitchell McClenaghan, Adam Milne, Jason Behrendorff, Yuvraj Singh, Lasith Malinga, Anmolpreet Singh, Rasikh Salam, Barinder Sran, Pankaj Jaiswal and Jayant Yadav


Quinton de Kock from RCB and Jayant Yadav from Delhi Capitals

Players Bought in Auction

Yuvraj Singh, Lasith Malinga, Anmolpreet Singh, Rasikh Salam, Barinder Sran and Pankaj Jaiswal.

Fetching more content...