IPL history: 5 greatest finals of all time

  • A look at the best finals in the history of IPL
Top 5 / Top 10
Modified 12 May 2019, 02:02 IST

MI and CSK will face off in an IPL final for the fourth time
MI and CSK will face off in an IPL final for the fourth time

After 59 matches and 50 days, we are left with two teams that will battle in the final of the 2019 Indian Premier League. Fittingly it is the Chennai Super Kings and the Mumbai Indians; the two best teams in the history of IPL that will take center stage.

The three-time champions will fight hard to win not only the title but also the bragging rights of being the first team to win it for a record fourth time. Both have met thrice in the season with Rohit Sharma's men coming out on top on each occasion.

Also, Mumbai leads 2-1 against Chennai in the IPL final head to head. But if there is one team that knows how to play in the playoffs then it is the Chennai Super Kings. Having qualified for their eighth final, they are definitely a force to reckon with. Although MI starts as favorites, we have seen over the years that the underdogs have gone on to clinch the crown.

As we gear up for another cliffhanger, let's look back at five of the best IPL finals in the competition's history.

#5 Rajasthan Royals beat Chennai Super Kings by 3 wickets - 2008

The inaugural edition of the IPL produced one of the best IPL finals. Two teams in Rajasthan Royals and Chennai Super Kings which had no icon players at the start faced off in Mumbai. Batting first CSK got off to a sedate start scoring only 42 in the powerplay.

Albie Morkel was promoted to number four to increase the scoring rate and tackle Shane Warne. The move worked to an extent but it also helped Yusuf Pathan to bowl his off-spinners' as the Baroda man claimed three top-order wickets. A late cameo from captain MS Dhoni took the total to 163.

Despite chasing a modest total, RR felt the scoreboard pressure as they lost three quick wickets. Yusuf's 39-ball 56 in a partnership with Shane Watson's brought the equation down to eight off the last over. Sohail Tanvir hit a four off the last ball to make them the inaugural champions.

1 / 5 NEXT
Published 12 May 2019, 02:02 IST
Fetching more content...
Get the free App now
❤️ Favorites Edit