New User posted their first comment

IPL: List of Players who have captained IPL franchises

  • A look at the players who have been captains in the history of IPL
Modified 25 Jan 2019, 12:40 IST
MS Dhoni and Virat Kohli
MS Dhoni and Virat Kohli

If there is one sport, where the role of the captain is imperative then it is Cricket. Very famous team sports like football and basketball have captains in designatory roles and Davis Cup teams in Tennis have had non-playing captains. From strategizing against opponents to controlling his fielders, the captain is pro-active during every happening of the game.

When the Indian Premier League was started in 2008, the role of captain became even more important because of the short duration of the tournament. Moreover, with the squad comprising of a new set of players from different countries, the captain has to be spot on with his team changes.

Captains with a prolonged stint in that position have been successful in the tournament. Mahendra Singh Dhoni is one such example who has led Chennai Super Kings to the knockout of every season they have played. Let us look at the list of players who have been captain of IPL franchises.

#8 Sunrisers Hyderabad

Warner & Williamson led with the bat during their captaincy stints
Warner & Williamson led with the bat during their captaincy stints

Captains: Kumar Sangakkara - 2013

Cameron White - 2013

Shikhar Dhawan - 2014

Darren Sammy - 2014


David Warner - 2015 - 2017

Kane Williamson - 2018

Sunrisers Hyderabad was formed in 2013 after Deccan Chargers were dissolved in 2012 after financial issues. Kumar Sangakkara was appointed the captain of the team for their inaugural season in 2013. Although the team did well, he couldn't contribute much as a batsman. Hence he dropped himself and appointed Cameron White as Captain of the team.

Before the big auction in 2014, Sunrisers retained Dale Steyn and Shikhar Dhawan, as he was appointed as captain for the new season. But the burden of captaincy affected the south-paw as runs dried up from his bat. Darren Sammy was elevated to the role of captaincy in the later stages of the tournament.

In 2015, Australian David Warner was appointed as captain and he led them to their first title in 2016. His ban due to sandpaper gate, he was barred from participating in the 2018 season. Kane Williamson replaced Warner and led a successful campaign only to lose to Chennai in the finals in 2018.

Follow Sportskeeda for all the updates on IPL news, IPL schedule, points table, live scores, fantasy tips and stats.

1 / 8 NEXT
Published 24 Jan 2019, 02:13 IST
Fetching more content...
Get the free App now
❤️ Favorites Edit