Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium

Last Modified Mar 06, 2023 18:21 IST

Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium is the principal cricket stadium in Hyderabad. It is located at Uppal and has a seating capacity of 55,000. It is stretched over 16 acres of land and known for its state-of-the-art facility. The ground is owned and operated by the Hyderabad Cricket Association. It is the homeground of the Hyderabad Cricket team and Sunrisers Hyderabad in the IPL.

Panorama_of_rajiv_gandhi_stadium.jpg (1024×552)


Lal Bahadur Shastri Stadium was the lone ground in the Fateh Maidan Sports complex in central Hyderabad. The ground was owned by the Sports Authority of Andhra Pradesh, which gave the Hyderabad Cricket Association a limited control over the venue.

Because of its smaller size, the Lal Bahadur Shastri Stadium was considered as a high-scoring ground and didn't get enough chances to host international matches.

The HCA proposed to build a new stadium in the city and then Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N. Chandrababu Naidu approved it immediately. Initially, Visaka Industries Limited won a bid in the auction for INR 65,00,00,00 back then.

It was decided that the stadium will be named after the contractors but former Chief Minister Y.S.Rajasekhara Reddy felt the need to name it after former Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi. The HCA had to pay the contract price of INR 43,00,00,000 to Visaka Industries following the decision to change the ground name.

Major Matches

155f2883-untitled-design-2023-01-18t123424.750.jpg (1200×628)

India and South Africa played the first One-Day International match in 2005. India lost their first three ODI matches at this ground.

During the 2009 bilateral series between India and Australia, the visitors posted 350/4 in the fifth ODI at this venue. Shaun Marsh (112) and Shane Watson (93) put an incredible opening stand of 145 runs to set the platform for the humongous total.

Sachin Tendulkar was involved in a lone battle with the Australians in a massive chase. The Indian batting mainstay scored a magnificent 175 runs and had almost got the hosts in the game, however, Clint McKay dismissed him in the 48th over to claw back Australia's way in the thriller.

India failed to score eight runs in the final over as Australia bowled the hosts out for 347 with two balls to spare.

India and Australia played the second Test of the 2013 Border Gavaskar Trophy in Hyderabad. Indian batter Cheteshwar Pujara slammed his second double-hundred in Test cricket as he scored 204 runs to give the hosts a substantial lead of 266 in the first innings.

Off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin claimed figures 5/63 with the ball to skittle out the Aussies for a paltry 131. India won by an innings and 135 runs to take a convincing 2-0 lead in the four-Test series.

Recent Matches

India and New Zealand played the series opener of their three-match ODI series at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in January 2023.

It was a game of two brilliant knocks with the result just being a mere formality. Young Indian opener Shubman Gill single-handedly kept New Zealand bowlers at the bay. He smashed 19 fours and nine sixes in his terrific maiden double-hundred (208 in 149 balls). The second best score for India in that innings was 34 but Gill's gallant knock was enough for them to post 349/8.

The Black caps, in response, were reduced to 131 for 6 before the 29th over. Just then, Michael Bracewell produced a marvelous counter-attacking innings to give India a serious scare. In an alliance of 162 runs with Mitchell Santner, Bracewell played the aggressor's role, blazing 12 fours and 10 sixes. It gave the visitors a beam of hope to pull off a spectacular chase, but Santner departed on 57 in a bid to counter Mohammed Siraj's short ball.

Bracewell was the last man left along with Blair Tickner when New Zealand required 20 runs in six balls. The southpaw cracked the first ball for a six off Shardul Thakur. The bowler was under pressure as he bowled a wide but executed a fine yorker to trap the batter in front of the wickets. India won by 12 runs after New Zealand were bowled out for 337 in 49.2 overs.

Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium Stats

A4077-Rajiv-Gandhi-International-Cricket-Stadium-by-Shashi-Prabhu-One-of-Indias-most-popular-cricket-stadiums.jpg (900×585)


Tests Played: 5

Matches won batting first: 2

Matches won bowling first: 2

Highest Total: India 687/6 vs Bangladesh

Lowest Total: West Indies 127/10 vs India

Most Runs: Cheteshwar Pujara (510)

Most Wickets: Ravichandran Ashwin (27)

Highest Score in an innings: Brendon McCullum (225)

Best Bowling Figures in an innings: Ravichandran Ashwin 6/31


ODIs Played: 7

Matches won batting first: 4

Matches won bowling first: 3

Highest Total: Australia 350/4 vs India

Lowest Total: England 174/10 vs India

Most Runs: Yuvraj Singh (233)

Most wickets: Umesh Yadav (6)

Highest score: Shubman Gill (208)

Best Bowling Figures: Mohammed Siraj 4/46


T20Is Played: 2

Matches won batting first: 0

Matches won bowling first: 2

Highest Total: 209/4 India vs West Indies

Lowest Total: Australia 186/7 vs India

Most Runs: Virat Kohli (157)

Most Wickets: Axar Patel (3) and Yuzvendra Chahal (3)

Highest Score: Virat Kohli (94*)

Best Bowling Figures: Axar Patel 3/33