Favorites Edit

Rising Pune Supergiants acquire Saurabh Tiwary and Albie Morkel ahead of IPL 2016

48.47K   //    11 Feb 2016, 19:15 IST
Rising Pune Supergiants will be the 4th IPL franchise Albie Morkel will play for

In the latest development in the Indian Premier League (IPL), Rising Pune Supergiants (RPSG) have signed India’s Saurabh Tiwary and South Africa’s Albie Morkel to their team. The Pune-based franchise is led by the Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni and will be making their IPL debut in the upcoming 2016 season.

The news was announced through an official tweet from IPL’s Twitter account:

Players with T20 pedigree

Saurabh Tiwary is a left-handed batsman who has played for Delhi Daredevils and Royal Challengers Bangalore before and has a fairly decent Twenty20 record. He has scored 2103 runs in the 109 matches at an average of 30.92 with 8 half centuries to his name.

Albie Morkel, who is the eldder brother of Morne, is an all-rounder who has played before in the IPL for Delhi Daredevils, Chennai Super Kings and Royal Challengers Bangalore. With 3751 runs and 228 wickets to his name in his career of 285 matches in Twenty20, Morkel can be a very useful weapon for the RPSG.

IPL chairman Rajiv Shukla confirmed the news today by saying RPSG have added two more fire powers to their team's arsenal. He said: "The Rising Pune Supergiants have added more firepower to their batting line up by acquiring the services of all-rounder Albie Morkel and specialist batsman Saurabh Tiwary. Both players who represented the Delhi Daredevils in the previous edition, will now play for the Pune franchise."

Supergiants CEO, Raghu Iyer was happy to announce the news and said both Tiwary and Morkel are wonderful additions to the side.

"We are pleased to have Saurabh Tiwary and Albie Morkel for the upcoming season. They both are proven performers in the Indian Premier League and will strengthen our team," Iyer said.

Delhi Daredevils CEO, Hemant Dua thanked both players for their contributions during the respective stint with the franchise. "Both Saurabh and Albie have served the Daredevils very well and we would like to thank and wish them the very best for the coming season," he said.

Rising Pune Supergiants Squad

Baba Aparajith, Murugan Ashwin, Ravichandran Ashwin, , Ankush Bains, Rajat Bhatia, Scott Boland, Deepak Chahar, MS Dhoni, Ashoke Dinda, Faf du Plessis, Peter Handscomb, Mitchell Marsh, Albie Morkel, Ishwar Pandey, Irfan Pathan, Thisara Perera, Kevin Pietersen, Ajinkya Rahane, Ankit Sharma, Ishant Sharma, Jaskaran Singh, RP Singh, Steven Smith, Saurabh Tiwary, Adam Zampa.

Here are the IPL 2016 teams and full players list.

Topics you might be interested in:
Fetching more content...