⚡️ Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

10 players who always win their country's Footballer of the Year

  • We take a look at 10 of the most dominant players in world football who always win their country's Player of the Year award.
Top 5 / Top 10
Modified 20 Dec 2019, 09:09 IST

#9 Robert Lewandowski, Poland – 5

Robert Lewandowski is one of the best strikers of this generation

The quickest foreign player to score 100 goals in the Bundesliga, Robert Lewandowski is undoubtedly one of the finest strikers of this generation both for club and country. Rising up the ranks in Poland, Lewandowski earned recognition first at Borussia Dortmund under Jurgen Klopp and then at Bayern Munich. A complete striker, with pace, height, ruthlessness and two good feet, Lewandowski has been the best Polish player for quite some time now.

He has 85 caps for the Polish national time and also captains the side. The stupendous career has led to the Pole being named the Polish footballer of the year a record five times since 2011. Lewandowski is unlikely to let go of the title anytime soon with no quality competition currently, except for Napoli’s 22-year old Arkadiusz Milik who definitely has the ability to dethrone his compatriot in the long run.

(Video Courtesy: Bundesliga Youtube Channel)

Published 26 Dec 2016, 17:20 IST
Fetching more content...