New User posted their first comment

Napoli Football


Full NameSocietà Sportiva Calcio Napoli

Nick NameGli Azzurri


GroundStadio San Paolo

Team Owner(s)Filmauro S.r.l

Prominent PlayersKalidou Koulibaly, Dries Mertens, Lorenzo Insigne, Allan


Hubert Dawid Idasiak Poland Right 18
Antonio Pio Daniele Italy - 18
David Ospina Colombia Right 32
Alex Meret Italy Right 23
Orestis Karnezis Greece Right 35
Dries Mertens Belgium Right 33
Arkadiusz Milik Poland Left 26
Fernando Llorente Spain Right 35
Jose Maria Callejon Spain Right 33
Matteo Politano Italy Left 27
Amin Younes Germany Both 27
Insigne Lorenzo Italy Right 29
Hirving Rodrigo Lozano Bahena Mexico Right 25
Leandro Henrique do Nascimento Brazil Right 22
Giovanni Di Lorenzo Italy Both 27
Kostas Manolas Greece Right 29
Elseid Hysaj Albania Right 26
Nikola Maksimovic Serbia Right 29
Faouzi Ghoulam Algeria Left 29
Kévin Malcuit France Right 29
Kalidou Koulibaly Senegal Right 29
Sebastiano Luperto Italy Left 24
Mário Rui Silva Duarte Portugal Left 29
Eljif Elmas North Macedonia Both 21
Stanislav Lobotka Slovakia Right 26
Diego Demme Germany Both 29
Piotr Zieliński Poland Right 26
Fabián Ruiz Peña Spain Left 24
Allan Marques Loureiro Brazil Right 29

Napoli History and Records

In 1905, a club named Naples Foot-Ball & Cricket Club was founded by William Potts and his associate Hector M. Bayon. The club was renamed to Associazione Calcio Napoli in the year 1926 under the presidency of Giorgio Ascarelli. The club got its current name, Società Sportiva Calcio Napoli on 25 June 1964 but is commonly referred to as Napoli. 

Napoli faced a low period for the majority of its early years but after 1964, when the club got promoted back to Serie A, they have been rising continuously. The worst defeat for Napoli was in the early days after its formation when the club lost to Torino by 11-0 on 4 March 1928. After settling down as a club, napoli secured some great victories, the biggest of which was against Pro Patria on 16 October 1955 with a scoreline of 8-1.

Napoli Manager- Carlo Ancelloti

SSC Napoli v AC Milan - Serie A

Carlo Ancelotti who played as a midfielder in his playing career has received alot of recognition and success as a manager. Ancelotti who retired in the year 1992, started his managing career with a small club named Regianna in 1995 and then went to Parma before managing the Italian giants Juventus. 

Ancelotti has managed big clubs since then which include Milan, Chelsea, PSG, Real Madrid and Bayern Munich. He has won trophies with every club he managed and also won UCL with Real Madrid in 2013-14 season. Ancelotti took charge of Napoli in 2018 and helped them to secure second position in Serie A in his very first season.

Napoli Stadium- Stadio San Paolo

SSC Napoli v Manchester City - UEFA Champions League

Located in the western suburb of Fuorigrotta in Naples, Stadio San Paolo remains the home of Napoli since its construction in 1959. After a series of renovations in 1990, 2010, 2018-19 the stadium has a current capacity of 60,240 which makes it the third largest stadium of Italy.

An attempt was made to name the stadium after its legend Diego Maradona but the proposal was rejected as according to Italian law this kind of naming can be done only if a person is dead for more than 10 years.

Napoli Logo

Naples is a coastal city and the blue color of the badge has been derived from the blue waters of the Gulf of Naples. The badge features a big N inside a circle and the club has officially altered the logo several times. The change sometimes was a change in the shade of blue. The “N” of the logo was mostly white but is occasionally golden in color.

Napoli President - Aurelio De Laurentiis

SSC Napoli v OGC Nice

Since the formation of the club, there have been a total of 34 presidents for the club. The first President was Giorgio Ascarelli who was the president from 1926 to 1927.

Aurelio De Laurentiis, the current president of Napoli is the 34th president of the club. Apart from being the president of the club, Aurelio is also a prominent Italian films producer. Aurelio has been the president of the club for 15 years now and has already become the longest serving president for the club.

Napoli Nickname- Gli Azzurri

Gli Azzurri when translated to english means the blues.They got this nickname for various reasons, the primary being the kit they wear and the colour of the badge. Napoli has used the blue color for its kit and badge since its formation as it represents the blue waters of the Gulf of Naples and therefore, the fans have given the club nickname Gli Azzurri.

Napoli Trophies

Napoli Serie A Titles (2)

Diego Maradona Napoli v Stuttgart UEFA Cup Final 2nd Leg 1989

S. No.Napoli Serie A TitlesRunner-Ups

Napoli Coppa Italia Titles (5)

ACF Fiorentina v SSC Napoli - TIM Cup Final

S. No.Napoli Coppa Italia TitlesRunner-Ups
21975-76Hellas Verona

Napoli Supercoppa Italiana Titles (2)

Juventus FC v SSC Napoli - 2014 Italian Super Cup

S. No.Napoli Supercoppa Italia TitlesRunner-Ups

Napoli UEFA Cup Titles (1)

Diego Maradona of Napoli celebrates after the UEFA Cup Semi-Final Second Leg match

S. No.Napoli European TitlesRunner-Up
11988-89Stuttgart (Germany)

Napoli Top Scorer- Marek Hamsik

SSC Napoli v AC Siena - Serie A

Marek Hamsik is a Slovak footballer who plays as an attacking midfielder. He holds the record of scoring most goals for Napoli in all competitions. Marek Hamsik, who recently left Napoli, played for 12 years from 2007 to 2019 at the club and scored a total of 121 goals in 520 matches breaking the record of Diego Maradona who scored 115 goals for the club.

Napoli Legends

Napoli has witnessed some great players and The greatest of them all is undoubtedly Diego Maradona. The only two Serie A titles that Napoli won was when Maradona played for them. Some other legends of Napoli include Antonio Juliano (Central midfielder), Giuseppe Bruscolotti (Right Back), Paolo Cannavaro (Centre Back) and Ciro Ferrara (Centre Back)

Fetching more content...
Get the free App now
❤️ Favorites Edit