2014 FIFA World Cup

Last Modified Nov 24, 2022 13:23 GMT

The 2014 FIFA World Cup remains one of the most entertaining and exciting editions of the competition in recent history. The showpiece event was held in Brazil and witnessed massive groups of fans from across the world flock to the South American country to experience history in the making.

Brazil entered the tournament as both hosts and favourites and were in exceptional form going into the tournament. Neymar was at his exhilarating best in 2014 but an unfortunate injury against Colombia ruled him out of a crucial semi-final fixture against Germany. The Selecao suffered one of their most damaging defeats in the 2014 World Cup in front of a stunned home crowd.

The final of the 2014 World Cup witnessed a historic battle between Germany and Argentina, with Lionel Messi leading the South Americans’ charge. Mario Gotze scored an extra-time winner, however, and won Die Mannschaft their fourth World Cup triumph.

Who Was The 2014 World Cup Winner?

Germany won the 2014 FIFA World Cup. Germany started their World Cup campaign in Group G where they were drawn alongside Portugal, Ghana, and United States. Germany won their games against Portugal and United States but could only muster up a draw against Ghana. Despite the draw Germany still topped their group and qualified for the knockout stages. Germany’s first opponent in the knockout stages was Algeria. Both teams were unable to score in normal time, sending the match into extra time.

In extra time however Germany managed to score 2 goals past Algeria. Algeria responded with one goal in the 120+1’ but it was too little too late as Germany won the game 2-1 and advanced to the Quarter-finals. Germany next faced France. An early goal by Mats Hummels saw Germany take the lead against France. France were unable to retaliate back and Germany won the game 1-0. The next match was against Brazil. This was one of the most iconic match in the 2014 FIFA World Cup. Germany totally outclassed Brazil, beating them 7-1 in the Semi-finals of the 2014 FIFA World Cup.

This is one of the biggest defeat in World Cup history. Germany’s final hurdle between them and the FIFA World Cup was Argentina. Neither Germany nor Argentina were able to score in the normal time of the finals, which meant the match going into extra time. In the extra time, the crucial moment came in the 113’. German player Mario Gotze managed to sneak the ball into Argentina’s net, giving them a late lead in the 2014 FIFA World Cup. Argentina were unable to score in the little time remaining and thus Germany became the champions of the 2014 FIFA World Cup.

Which Teams Were In The 2014 World Cup?

AFC (4)

South Korea

CAF (5)

Ivory Coast


None qualified


United States



UEFA (13)

Bosnia and Herzegovina

Where Was The 2014 FIFA World Cup Held?

In March 2003 it was announced that South America would be hosting its first FIFA World Cup since 1978. This was due to its rotation of confederations policy. This was the first time the tournament was held outside Europe for consecutive FIFA World Cups. Brazil was officially elected as the hosts for the 2014 FIFA World Cup on 30th October 2007. 12 Stadiums in 12 cities across Brazil hosted the 2014 FIFA World Cup. The most used stadiums were the Maracana and Brasilia, which hosted 7 World Cup matches each.

Maracanã 2014 e crop.jpg
Brasilia Stadium - June 2013.jpg
Fortaleza Arena on March 2014..jpg
2014 FIFA World Cup is located in Brazil
Mineirão Aérea.jpg
Aerea Fontenova.jpg
Vista Aérea Beira-Rio.jpg
Recife aerea arenapernambuco.jpg
Cuiaba Arena.jpg
Arena da Amazônia (Aerial View).jpg
Arena das Dunas.jpg
Rio de Janeiro City, Rio de JaneiroBrasília, Federal DistrictSão Paulo City, São PauloFortaleza, Ceará
Estádio do MaracanãEstádio NacionalArena de São PauloEstádio Castelão
Capacity: 74,738Capacity: 69,432Capacity: 63,321Capacity: 60,348
Belo Horizonte, Minas GeraisSalvador, Bahia
Estádio MineirãoArena Fonte Nova
Capacity: 58,259Capacity: 51,708
Porto Alegre, Rio Grande do SulRecife, Pernambuco
Estádio Beira-RioArena Pernambuco
Capacity: 43,394Capacity: 42,583
Cuiabá, Mato GrossoManaus, AmazonasNatal, Rio Grande do NorteCuritiba, Paraná
Arena PantanalArena da AmazôniaArena das DunasArena da Baixada
Capacity: 41,112Capacity: 40,549Capacity: 39,971Capacity: 39,631

Who Was The Top Scorer In The 2014 World Cup?

Columbian star James Rodriguez was the top goalscorer in the 2014 FIFA World Cup. He ended the tournament with 6 goals scored. James Rodriguez scored in every single match he played in at the 2014 FIFA World Cup. He scored 3 goals in the group stages, one against each of Greece, Ivory Coast, and Japan. Rodriguez then scored 2 goals in the Round of 16 match against Uruguay, helping Columbia reach the Quarter-finals of the FIFA World Cup. Columbia faced Brazil in the Quarter-finals.

James Rodriguez scored a goal against Brazil as well but it was not enough to help Columbia beat Brazil as they lost 2-1 in the Quarter-finals and were eliminated in the Quarter-finals of the 2014 FIFA World Cup.

What Was The 2014 World Cup Trophy?

The FIFA World Cup Trophy was given to Germany for winning the 2014 tournament. This is one of the most prestigious trophies in world football. It is however not given to the winning team permanently. It is given to them for the celebrations but is taken back to safekeep it till the next tournament, where it is presented to the next FIFA World Cup winner.

What Was The Official 2014 World Cup Ball?

The official ball for the 2014 FIFA World Cup was called the Brazuca. This was the first FIFA World Cup ball named by the fans. The ball was made out of 6 polyurethane panels which were thermally bonded together. The same ball was used in the final with a different color scheme, that of green, gold, and black. This was called the Brazuca Final Rio.


Brazuca Final Rio

What Was The 2014 World Cup Song?

The official songs of the 2014 FIFA World Cup were Dar um Jeito (We Will Find a Way) by Carlos Santana featuring Wyclef, Avicii, and Alexandre Pires and We Are One (Ole Ola) by Pitbull featuring Jennifer Lopez and Claudia Leitte. The links for both the sings are given below.

Santana - Dar um Jeito (We Will Find a Way) [Official 2014 FIFA World Cup Anthem]

We Are One (Ole Ola) [The Official 2014 FIFA World Cup Song] (Olodum Mix)