FIFA World Cup Golden Boot Winners

Last Modified Nov 11, 2021 10:58 GMT

The Golden Boot is an award given to the top scorer at the end of the FIFA World Cup. This award was given first in 1982 at Spain under the name 'Golden Shoe’ but it was renamed in 2010. Currently, Adidas is the commercial sponsor and the award is known as 'Adidas Golden Boot’.

If there are more than one play with same number maximum goals, then a tie-breaker goes in the favor of the player with more assists. If even then, two players lie at a same position, then the player who has has taken less time to achieve that is given the award.

Golden Shoe

World CupPlayerCountryGoals
1982 SpainPaolo RossiItaly6
1986 MexicoGary LinekerEngland6
1990 ItalySalvatore SchillaciItaly6
1994 USAOleg SalenkoHristo StoichkovRussiaBulgaria6
1998 FranceDavor SukerCroatia6
2002 South Korea/ JapanRonaldoBrazil8
2006 GermanyMiroslav KloseGermany5

Golden Boot

World CupPlayerCountryGoals
2010 South AfricaThomas MullerGermany5
2014 BrazilJames RodriguezColombia6

Frequently asked questions:

1) Who has scored the most goals in a single World Cup?

Just Fontaine holds the record for scoring 13 goals at a single World Cup in 1958, which he achieved in six games.