FIFA World Cup Golden Glove Winners

The Golden Glove award for the goalkeeper with the most number of clean sheets was only introduced at the 2010 FIFA World Cup, held in South Africa.

Before that, from the 1994 event until 2006, the best goalkeeper of the tournament was awarded the Lev Yashin Award, named after the legendary Russian goalkeeper.

The only individual recognition for goalkeepers prior to the 1994 event, came in the form of being named in the All-Star team of the tournament.

Goalkeepers named in the All-Star Team of the Tournament

World CupHostsNameNationality
1930UruguayEnrique BallestreroUruguay
1934ItalyRicardo ZamoraSpain
1938FranceFrantišek PláničkaCzechoslovakia
1950BrazilRoque MáspoliUruguay
1954SwitzerlandGyula GrosicsHungary
1958SwedenHarry GreggNorthern Ireland
1962ChileViliam SchrojfCzechoslovakia
1966EnglandGordon BanksEngland
1970MexicoLadislao MazurkiewiczUruguay
1974West GermanySepp MaierWest Germany
1978ArgentinaUbaldo FillolArgentina
1982SpainDino ZoffItaly
1986MexicoJean-Marie PfaffBelgium
1990ItalyLuis Gabelo ConejoCosta Rica
1990ItalySergio GoycocheaArgentina

Lev Yashin Award Winners

World CupHostsNameNationality
1994United StatesMichel Preud'hommeBelgium
1998FranceFabien BarthezFrance
2002Korea/JapanOliver KahnGermany
2006GermanyGianluigi BuffonItaly

Golden Glove Winners

World CupHostsNameNationality
2010South AfricaIker CasillasSpain
2014BrazilManuel NeuerGermany

Article image

Go to article
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now