Favorites Edit

La Liga awards: Antoine Griezmann beats Leo Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo to 'Player of the Year' gong

14.67K   //    25 Oct 2016, 10:34 IST
La Liga award winners. (Image courtesy:

Atletico Madrid's Antoine Griezmann was crowned the La Liga's 'Best Player of the year’ in the annual La Liga awards that was held last night. The Frenchman beat ever-present stars Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi to win the award for the first time in his career. 

Also Read: Antoine Griezmann says he's not on par with Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo yet

The La Liga awards is an annual event conducted by the Liga de Futbol Profesional (LFP) to honour those who had spectacular seasons for the club. But instead of fans and critics voting, the captains and vice captains of all the twenty La Liga sides vote to choose the winners. 

In general, Atletico Madrid were the team who won most of the awards on the night beating both Barcelona and Real Madrid to four of the six main awards presented. Barcelona won only one award and so did Real Madrid. 

But the notable exception from the list of winners was Real Madrid's Cristiano Ronaldo who failed to win any of the awards presented on the night. Leo Messi, who was the ‘Player of the Year’ six times in the last eight years only managed to win the ‘Best Forward of the Year’ award – the seventh time he’s winning it. 

Real Madrid only managed to win one of the main awards with midfielder Luka Modric winning the ‘Best Midfielder of the Year’ award for his part in securing the eleventh UEFA Champions League title for his club. 

Also Read: No panic for Atletico after first loss this season

Diego Simeone was voted the ‘Best Coach of the Year’ for another stellar campaign with what increasingly looks like an underdog team in Atletico Madrid. The Madrid team won more gongs with Jan Oblak winning the ‘Best Goalkeeper of the Year’ and Diego Godin winning the ‘Best Defender of the Year’ awards. 

Team of the Year 2015/2016

The Liga de Futbol Profesional (LFP) also presented a team of the year with representatives from only the top three clubs in the Liga - Barcelona, Real Madrid and Atletico Madrid. Barcelona have five players on the list, Real Madrid have four and Atletico Madrid only managed to score two players on the list. 

What’s surprising is that the ‘Best Player of the Year’ award winner, Antoine Griezmann, failed to make it to the Team of the Year even though he had another stellar campaign for Diego Simeone’s side. 

Here’s the team and the other awards, accordingly: 

Team of the year: 

Goalkeeper: Jan Oblak (Atletico Madrid) 

Defenders: Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Diego Godin (Atletico Madrid), Gerard Pique (Barcelona) and Marcelo (Real Madrid)

Midfielders: Andres Iniesta (Barcelona), Sergio Busquets (Barcelona) and Luka Modric (Real Madrid) 

Forwards: Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid), Lionel Messi (Barcelona) and Luis Suarez (Barcelona) 

Individual awards: 

Best GoalkeeperJan OblakAtletico Madrid
Best DefenderDiego GodinAtletico Madrid
Best MidfielderLuka ModricReal Madrid
Best ForwardLionel MessiBarcelona
Best CoachDiego SimeoneAtletico Madrid
Best PlayerAntoine GriezmannAtletico Madrid
Best Newcomer Marco AsensioReal Madrid
World Player of the YearLuis SuarezBarcelona
Fans’ Five-Star PlayerAntoine GriezmannAtletico Madrid

More Football news, transfer rumours, analysis and features at

Topics you might be interested in:
Football and Arsenal fanatic. Getting to grips with playing Ultimate every week.
Fetching more content...