Favorites Edit

Railways, Jharkhand, Haryana, MP in semis

71   //    08 Feb 2018, 22:19 IST

Ranchi, Feb 8 (PTI) Railways, Jharkhand, Haryana and Madhya Pradesh scripted stunning victories to enter the semifinals of the 8th Hockey India Senior Women National Championship (A Division) here today.

Railway Sports Promotion Board continued their superb form as they thrashed Hockey Karnataka 14-0 in the first quarterfinal.

Neha Goyal (4th, 48th), Lilima Minz (8th, 14th), Navjot Kaur (13th, 58th), Anupa Barla (16th, 20th), Navneet Kaur (19th, 23rd), Priyanka Wankhede (26th, 42nd) scored two goals each while Vandana Katariya (37th), Deepika (39th), Neha Goyal (48th) and Navjot Kaur (58th) scored a goal each in this high scoring victory.

With this performance, Anupa Barla became the highest goal scorer of the tournament thus far with 13 while team-mate Priyanka Wankhede second with 11 goals.

After a 0-0 stalemate in the regulation time, Hockey Jharkhand beat Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy 3-2 in penalty shootout.

In the third quarterfinal match of the day, Hockey Haryana beat old rival Hockey Punjab 6-0 to advance to the semifinals on Saturday.

Hockey Madhya Pradesh then scored a sensational 8-1 win over Hockey Maharashtra to qualify for the semifinals. It was Soundarya Yendala (7th, 8th, 12th, 17th, 35th) who starred in the match with five goals.

Reena Khokhar (23rd), Shivani Singh (36th) and Lalhlunmawii (60th) were the other goal scorers for the winning team while Bhavana Khade (21st) was the lone goal scorer for Hockey Maharashtra

Press Trust of India (PTI) is a news agency in India
Fetching more content...