Light Middleweight

The Light Middleweight division is a weight class in boxing and has been widely recognized by all the major boxing organisations in the world like the WBO, WBC, IBF and WBA. The fighters belonging to this division should be above 147 pounds but should not exceed the limit of 154 pounds. This weight class is known as junior middleweight in IBF and super welterweight in WBA and WBC.

The division was first established in 1962 to facilitate a match between Nicko Sabong and Teddy Wright, and the fight took place on October 17 of that year. The WBA created the division three days after this fight. WBC recognised the WBA Light Middleweight title holder as its champion till 1975.

The IBF crowned Mark Medal as its first Light Middleweight champion in 1984. WBO's first champion in this weight class was John David Jackson after he defeated Lupe Aquino in 1988.

The record for the most title defences in this division belongs to Gianfranco Rosi with 11. Over the years, this division has seen some of the best boxers in the world like Manny Pacquiao, Sugar Ray Leonard and Floyd Mayweather Jr. compete for the major honours.

Here's a look at the current champions in this weight class across the major organisations:

Sanctioning bodyReign BeganChampionRecordDefences
WBA (Super)March 8, 2014Erislandy Lara25โ€“2โ€“2 (14 KO)6
WBA (Regular)October 28, 2017Brian Castano15โ€“0โ€“0 (11 KO)1
WBCMay 21, 2016Jermell Charlo30โ€“0โ€“0 (15 KO)2
IBFFebruary 25, 2017Jarrett Hurd21โ€“0โ€“0 (15 KO)1
WBODecember 2, 2017Sadam Ali26โ€“1โ€“0 (14 KO)0

Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now