Last Modified Aug 03, 2022 18:14 IST

Lightweight is a weight class in professional boxing. Weight classes are categories in which competition is divided into to match competitors of the same size against each other. In professional boxing, weights from 130 pounds (59 kg) to 135 pounds (61.2 kg) fall under this weight category.

Alexis Argüello, Henry Armstrong, Ken Buchanan, Tony Canzoneri, Pedro Carrasco, Joel Casamayor, Al "Bummy" Davis, Oscar De La Hoya, Roberto Durán, Artur Grigorian, Joe Gans, Benny Leonard, Ray Mancini, Floyd Mayweather Jr., Juan Manuel Marquez, Sugar Shane Mosley, Miguel Ángel González, Carlos Ortiz, Edwin Valero, Pernell Whitaker, and Ike Williams are some of the most notable boxers from this division.

The record for the most consecutive title defenses in this division is 17 and is held by Artur Grigorian for the WBO Title.

Below is a table of the current champions of the lightweight boxing category.

Sanctioning bodyReign beganChampionRecordDefenses
WBAJune 5, 2022Devin Haney28–0 (15 KO)0
WBCOctober 23, 2019Devin Haney28–0 (15 KO)5
IBFJune 5, 2022Devin Haney28-0 (15 KO)0
WBOJune 5, 2022Devin Haney28-0 (15 KO)0

Read More read-more-icon