Favorites Edit

Khelo: Nithin scorches Balewadi track to win fastest lad title

50   //    11 Jan 2019, 23:49 IST

Pune, Jan 11 (PTI) BespectacledBalakumar Nithin of Tamil Nadu set the Khelo track alight here with a personal best-equalling 100m dash in the boys Under-21 category on Friday.

Nithin clocked 10.76 seconds, the same as when he took bronze at the All-India Inter-Universities Championship in Moodbidri and raised his right arm aloft, aware that he had sealed what seemed like an improbable win after 70m.

A sluggish start saw him trailing badly but the Chennai-based 19-year-old was eventually a comfortable winner, a media release said.

The line-up at the start was formidable since it included national junior champion Ajith Kumar and silver medallist M. Karthikeyan, Nithin's state-mates, and bronze medallist Nevil Francis Fernandez of Kerala.

None of them was among the medals tonight.

Four other runners dipped in under 11 seconds in what was a fast race.

Karnatakas Prajwal Mandana lost the lead and earned silver, one-tenth of a second behind Nithin.

The Mohammed Riaz-trained sprinter drew satisfaction from the victory. His time here was faster than Ajith Kumars winning time of 10.84 seconds in the National meet in Ranchi.

The bustling Nisar Ahmed, who was persuaded by his coach Sunita Rai to compete here despite being in off-season training, won the Under-17 sprint in a slowish 10.96.

Karnatakas A. T. Daneshwari beat Maddali Supriya yet again for the title of the fastest girl Under-21 athlete here.

Maharashtra's Sudeshna Shivankar claimed gold in 12.48 seconds in the girls Under-17 100m final on a night that saw the four sprint golds head to different states