New User posted their first comment

5 most successful T20 cricketers ever

Despite playing in several T20 tournaments, Chris Gayle does not have enough trophies in his cabinet
Modified 21 Sep 2016, 17:35 IST
Top 5 / Top 10

It has been over a decade since T20 cricket, the newest and most exciting format of the sport, came into existence. During this period, there has hardly been a cricket-playing nation which has not had a tete-a-tete with this modified version of limited-overs cricket.

The journey that began back in 2003 with England’s Twenty20 Cup and South Africa’s Standard Bank Pro 20 has reached a stage where even Bangladesh have their own T20 tournament involving top-drawer foreign players. These days there are specialists for T20 cricket, too, and they travel the world throughout the year to play in different competitions which are played in this format.

Among the several cricketers who have played the 20-over game in the past 13 years or so, some have enjoyed more success than others in terms of the number of trophies that they have won. Here are the 5 most successful T20 cricketers ever in this regard:

#5 Aiden Blizzard – 8 trophies

Aiden Blizzard won the latest edition of the BBL with Sydney Thunder

Perhaps the most surprising name on this list of the most successful T20 players is that of Australia’s Aiden Blizzard. Although he may not always have had a huge role to play in his team’s success, Blizzard has certainly managed to be part of quite a few tournament-winning squads.

It all began for the left-handed batsman in the KFC Big Bash, a predecessor of the Big Bash League, as he featured in Victoria’s successive title victories in the 2006/07 and 2007/08 seasons. He won another title with the same team in the 2009/10 season followed by one more with South Australia in the following edition.

Aiden Blizzard was also part of the Mumbai Indians squad during both their IPL triumphs and also won the Champions League T20 tournament with them back in 2011. Most recently, he was a member of the Sydney Thunder team which picked up the 2015/16 BBL crown.

1 / 5 NEXT
Published 21 Sep 2016, 17:13 IST
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now
❤️ Favorites Edit