Favorites Edit

5 batsmen who surprisingly never won the Orange Cap

Mohit Kalra
Top 5 / Top 10
20.85K   //    10 Mar 2018, 17:08 IST

Enter capti
Royal Challengers Bangalore have the most number of orange cap winners (3)

For rewarding the highest run-getter in the Indian Premier League, the Orange Cap was established. Only a few would know that this award got familiarized after one week of commencement of the inaugural IPL edition. The batsman with most runs at the completion of the tournament wins the Orange Cap award at the end of the season.

Batsmen such as Shaun Marsh, Matthew Hayden, Sachin Tendulkar, Chris Gayle (twice), Michael Hussey, Robin Uthappa, Virat Kohli and David Warner (twice) have been able to lay their hands on the cap while some of the deserving ones missed out.

Here is the list of most surprising names that are yet to win an Orange Cap award.

#5 Shikhar Dhawan

Image result for shikhar dhawan ipl
With his current form, Dhawan might get a grab this time

The Indian opening batsman, Shikhar Dhawan has been a part of the extravagant T20 league since its inception.

Considering the fact, that he has played all the matches in a season on about seven occasions, it is quite hard to believe a consistent player like him hasn't yet won the orange cap in ten years of IPL.

Since the addition of David Warner in Sunrisers Hyderabad camp, Dhawan got enforced to play the second-fiddle, which has put two cents in keeping him away from the prestigious award.

1 / 5 NEXT
Topics you might be interested in:
Mohit Kalra
Fetching more content...