Highest run Scorer in the IPL

Last Modified Mar 15, 2019 11:33 IST

Indian Premier League (IPL) is known to be the biggest T20 cricket tournament of in the world. And Indian cricketers have made sure they dominate the tournament over the years.

Suresh Raina and Virat Kohli are neck to neck in the battle to become the highest run-scorer in the IPL (combining all seasons). Two of the most consistent players of the IPL, Raina and Kohli are just 37 runs apart from each other in the race.


Raina has played 176 IPL matches and has scored 4985 runs. On the other hand, Kohli has played 163 IPL matches and has scored 4948 runs, just 37 runs short of becoming the highest run scorer in the IPL.

In the IPL 2018, Kohli scored 530 runs from 14 innings while Raina went on to make 445 runs from 15 innings.

Raina has hit one century in his IPL career and 35 half-centuries. With an average of 34.37 and strike rate of 138.47, Raina has been a consistent performer of the IPL since it's inception.

The first player to reach the 3000-run mark in the IPL, Raina has manged to score more than 400 runs in every season of the tournament, except 2015 and 2016, when he scored 374 and 399 runs respectively. it makes him the first and the only player in the history of the IPL to score more than 400 runs for seven consecutive seasons.

In the IPL 2018, the south-paw missed his first game for CSK in his eight years with the team due to a calf injury. With the eleventh season just in it's first half, there is lot more action to see from the two top order batsmen from India. The race to become the highest run scorer of the IPL has just begun.

Stay tuned to Sportskeeda for IPL live score, news, match updates and fantasy league tips.

*Updated on 27th May 2018