⚡️ Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

Deccan Chargers' 2009 IPL-winning XI: Where are the players now?

Manish Pathak
02 May 2016, 15:42 IST
Deccan Chargers
Deccan Chargers won the 2009 season of the Indian Premier League

Deccan Chargers finished last in the inaugural season of the Indian Premier League in 2008. They had a formidable team on paper but could never quite click as a unit and ended up languishing at the bottom of the table.

However, in a remarkable turnaround of events, the same team got its act together and surged in the following season which was held in South Africa and eventually emerged as champions. This was indeed some achievement by the team, and all the players combined well and performed admirably in conditions which suited their style of play. 

8 seasons have since passed, and many players of that final team have moved on, or have even stepped away from the game. We take a look at each player and where they are currently.

Adam Gilchrist

The inspirational captain rallied around his troops with some distinction during the 2009 season. Gilchrist played on cricket for 4 more years after, and is now a cricket commentator and analyst who can be heard during the Big Bash League in Australia. 

Gilchrist also played in the Masters Champions League tournament held in Dubai and represented Sagittarius Soldiers.

1 / 11 NEXT
Fetching more content...