Favorites Edit

‘Emerging Player of the Year’ across the 10 seasons of the IPL

Top 5 / Top 10
102.98K   //    16 Feb 2018, 12:36 IST


The Indian Premier League is the most popular T20 league across the globe. The mega extravaganza that it is, it gives the Indian fan the much needed freshness in the torrid summer months of April and May. The freshness it brings includes not just the entertainment and the cricket, but it also provides a perfect platform for fresh and budding young talent to showcase to the world their skills by setting the stage ablaze.

Each year, the BCCI recognizes such talent and awards the most prolific performer that particular season with the ‘Emerging Player of the Year’ award, thus giving their talent appreciation and reward. The recipient of the award must fulfill certain age and experience conditions and must be one who demonstrates the potential to be a future star in word cricket. 

Like many other aspects of the IPL, this award has also gone through a transition across the 10 years, from it being awarded to the ‘Best Under 19 Player’ in 2008 to being called the ‘Best Under 23 Success of the Tournament’ in 2009 and 2010. Hailed as the ‘Rising Star of the Year’ and the ‘Best Young Player of the Season’ in 2012 and 2013 respectively, it came to be called the ‘Emerging Player of the Year’ since 2014 and has stayed so till date.

With IPL 2018 approaching, let us have a look at the past recipients of this award and also see how successful have they been in justifying the title of the award.

1 / 11 NEXT
Topics you might be interested in:
Fetching more content...