Favorites Edit

5 players who scored 575 or more runs but did not win the Orange cap

Top 5 / Top 10
12.78K   //    10 Mar 2018, 14:45 IST

Enter caption

Cricket is all about milestones. We celebrate milestones and pour appreciation on to those who achieve them. It’s all about coming first. 

But while appreciating the number one, we tend to forget the other who came so near and finished second. Just because of the numbers, they don't get as much attention that they deserve. 

Let’s change the usual traditions and discuss the players who came second or third.

This article covers five players who scored over 575 runs in a single IPL season and did not win the Orange Cap, which is awarded for the highest run-getter. We all remember the one who won the Orange Cap in every season. Do we remember the ones who came second or third in each IPL season? The answer will be "No".

So let's refresh our memories.

Gautam Gambhir: 590 runs in 2012


Gautam Gambhir is one of the key reasons for KKR's success in IPL. He made a significant contribution both as a captain and a player in both their title runs.

In 2012, the Shahrukh Khan-owned franchise won the tournament and Gambhir starred by scoring 590 runs in that season. On April 30th, KKR were chasing a small target on the slowish wicket against CSK, and the captain played a responsible innings - 63 runs in 52 balls.

Gambhir won the man of the match award for his street-smart innings. But the southpaw surprised everyone when he handed over the man of the match award to Debabrata Das, who took them home in last two overs with an aggressive cameo.

The opening batsman scored six half-centuries and registered his career-best 93 in that season. However, Gayle won the Orange Cap with a whopping 733 runs.

1 / 5 NEXT
Topics you might be interested in:
I was married to Sachin then fell in Love with Kohli now secretly dating AB
Fetching more content...