ICC Test Rankings

Last Modified Jan 20, 2023 09:34 IST

ICC Test Team Ranking

4South Africa292,952102
5New Zealand302,96599
7Sri Lanka262,28288
8West Indies282,19879

ICC Test Ranking

Take a look at the ICC Test Batting Ratings :

ICC Test Batsmen Ranking

1Marnus LabuschagneAUS929
2Steve SmithAUS892
3Babar AzamPAK862
4Travis HeadAUS841
5Joe RootENG826
6Kane WilliamsonNZ810
7Rishabh PantIND797
8Usman KhawajaAUS770
9Dimuth KarunaratneSL748
10Rohit SharmaIND732

ICC Test Ranking

This is the list of ICC Test Bowling Ratings :

ICC Test Bowler Ranking

1Pat CumminsAUS878
2James AndersonENG835
3Jasprit BumrahIND812
4Ravichandran AshwinIND812
5Ollie RobinsonENG805
6Shaheen AfridiPAK787
7Kagiso RabadaSA776
8Kyle JamiesonNZ772
9Mitchell StarcAUS749
10Josh HazlewoodAUS733

Australia v Sri Lanka - 2nd Test: Day 4

This is the list of Test All-Rounders Ratings :

ICC Test All-rounders Ranking

1Ravindra JadejaIND369
2Ravichandran AshwinIND343
3Shakib Al HasanBAN329
4Ben StokesENG324
5Mitchell StarcAUS275
6Jason HolderWI273
7Kyle MayersWI238
8Pat CumminsAUS237
9Colin de GrandhommeNZ229
10Joe RootENG219

West Indies v England 2nd Test - Day Three

Teams who have dominated the ICC Test Ranking since 2003 :

AustraliaJune 2003July 2009
South AfricaAugust 2009November 2009
IndiaNovember 2009August 2011
EnglandAugust 2011August 2012
South AfricaAugust 2012May 2014
AustraliaMay 2014July 2014
South AfricaJuly 2014January 2016
IndiaJanuary 2016February 2016
AustraliaFebruary 2016August 2016
IndiaAugust 2016August 2016
PakistanAugust 2016October 2016
IndiaOctober 2016April 2020
AustraliaApril 2020March 2021
IndiaMarch 2021June 2021
New ZealandJune 2021December 2021
IndiaDecember 2021January 2022
AustraliaJanuary 2022Present

The ICC Test Rankings, also known as the ICC Test Championship, ranks the 10 Test playing nations by giving them a rating, which is based on a mathematical formula. Each team's points total from matches over the last 3−4 years is divided by a figure based on their total number of matches and series played.

The ICC awards the Test Championship Mace to the no. 1 Test team, which is the team which achieves the highest rating. The Australia Cricket Team, led by Pat Cummins, currently holds the mace, after finishing the year as the world no. 1 side, following their win against Australia in the four-match Test series held in Australia. They went on to win the series 4-0 and ensured that they stayed on top of the rankings. The Australian Cricket Team also defeated the England Cricket team in Jan 2022 winning the series by 4-0 and retaining the World No. 1 Test Team Title.

Australia has performed exceptionally well and occupies the first spot. India was previously at the top of the rankings and currently finds itself in the second position.

The ICC decided to award Afghanistan and Ireland the status of Test-playing nations after all the success they achieved over the past couple of years. The ICC Test Championship is also a great initiative to encourage the associate nations to take up test cricket.