ICC Women's T20 World Cup 2023 Winners List

Last Modified Feb 03, 2023 16:24 IST

The 8th edition of the ICC Women's T20 World Cup will take place in South Africa between February 10-26, 2023.

Since its inception in 2009, the Women's T20 World Cup has been dominated overwhelmingly by the Australians, with the Southern Stars bagging 5 out of a total of 7 titles.

GettyImages-88609555.jpg (1920×1080)

While England did win the inaugural edition in 2009, where they beat the New Zealand Women in a low-scoring final, Australia went on to claim the next three World Cups in 2010, 2012 and 2014.

Australia-Womens-Team.jpg (700×365)

02wcfinalteam.ashx (1600×1037)

In 2016, the Aussies got a shock of their lives when a rampant West Indies women team upstaged them by 8 wickets in the finals to break their dream of making it 4 in a row.

GettyImages-518861354.jpg (2000×1125)

But, as all champion sides do, Australia went to win the next two editions by beating arch-rivals England in 2018 and then India in front of 85000+ home fans at the MCG in early 2020.

GettyImages-1211122698.jpg (845×563)

This time, the 10 teams have been divided in two groups of 5 each, where they will play each other once. The top-2 sides from each Group will qualify for the semi-finals.

Defending champions Australia Women, 2009 & 2010 runners-up New Zealand Women, hosts South Africa Women and Sri Lanka and Bangladesh Women are in Group A while the inaugural champions England Women, 2020 runners-up India Women, 2016 winners West Indies Women, Pakistan and Ireland Women are in Group B.

List of ICC Women's T20 World Cup winners

YearWinnerRunner-upResult of Final
2009England WomenNew Zealand WomenEngland Women won by 5 wickets
2010Australia WomenNew Zealand WomenAustralia Women won by 3 runs
2012Australia WomenEngland WomenAustralia Women won by 4 runs
2014Australia WomenEngland WomenAustralia Women won by 6 wickets
2016West Indies WomenAustralia WomenWest Indies Women won by 8 wickets
2018Australia WomenEngland WomenAustralia Women won by 8 wickets
2020Australia WomenIndia WomenAustralia Women won by 85 runs