Favorites Edit

IPL 2018: Captains who never lost an IPL final

Vaibhav Joshi
Top 5 / Top 10
2.74K   //    11 Mar 2018, 21:50 IST

IPL 2018
The eleventh edition of the tournament has already garnered a lot of attention

Fasten your seat-belts and hold your nerves as the 11th edition of IPL is all set to begin in just a month's of time. This edition of IPL is expected to be much bigger as the two teams viz. Rajasthan Royals and Chennai Super Kings are making their comeback to the league after serving a two-year ban. 

Having enjoyed ten successful years, IPL has come across many captains. However, only six of them had the privilege to have their hands on the beautiful trophy. Whereas, many captains lost their way in the finals. 

Let us have a look at all the captains who never lost an IPL final.

#1 Shane Warne (Rajasthan Royals)

Image result for Shane warne with ipl trophy hd images
Shane Warne was the first captain to lift the IPL trophy

The world-class leg-spinner from Australia, Shane Warne was the first captain to lift an IPL trophy. Rajasthan Royals, beautifully led by Warne, won the inaugural edition of the league. Also, Shane Warne remains the most successful captain ever to lead the RR side. 

Shane Warne led from the front as he picked up 19 wickets from 15 innings in the first edition of IPL. On the back of his exceptional bowling and captaincy, Rajasthan Royals reached the finals and won the inaugural edition of the tournament.

Till date, RR has only featured in a solitary IPL final (2008) and that too under Warne's captaincy. Thus, Shane Warne remains the only RR captain and first overall to have never lost an IPL final. 

IPL Captaincy Record - Matches: 55 | Won: 30 | Lost: 24 | Tied: 1 | Win %: 55.45

1 / 5 NEXT
Topics you might be interested in:
Vaibhav Joshi
Fetching more content...