Favorites Edit

IPL 2019: 3 Players who might win the Orange Cap 

1.98K   //    02 Mar 2019, 13:50 IST

IPL 2018 Orange Cap winner - Kane Williamson
IPL 2018 Orange Cap winner - Kane Williamson

The Indian Premier League is almost upon us and the excitement for the IPL is as high as ever. Every year 8 teams compete against each other to win the glorious IPL trophy.

Although it is true there should be a balance of excellent batsman and great bowlers in their rosters if they want to have a shot at the championship. But, as a cricket fan, I prefer explosive and aggressive batsmen raining boundaries in the game.

To put it in simple words, we can say that we enjoy high scoring games more than anything because it is more entertaining than a slow paced 120-130 score game.

At the end of each season, top IPL batsmen and bowlers are awarded orange cap and purple cap respectively. The highest run-getter clinches the Orange Cap while the leading wicket-taker takes the Purple Cap home.

So, let's have a brief look at 3 players who might win the Orange Cap in the IPL 2019 season:

#3 Virat Kohli

Can Virat win the IPL 2019 Orange Cap?
Can Virat win the IPL 2019 Orange Cap?

The Indian skipper is unarguably the best player not only in the Indian Cricket team but in the world. Virat Kohli is known as the king of chasing as he has been part of some of the greatest run chases in the history of the game.

After Sachin Tendulkar's retirement, there were several speculations that the Indian cricket team will lose their supremacy in the game. But, the Indian cricket team was blessed with yet another generational talent in Kohli.

Despite winning several trophies in his vast International career, Kohli's trophy cabinet is still missing an IPL championship. Although that didn't stop him from scoring runs for the Royal Challengers Bangalore. Kohli is undeniably the top contender to win the Orange Cap this season.


Kohli finished his IPL 2018 season with 530 runs in 14 matches while finishing 7th in the Orange Cap list last year.

#2 Kane Williamson

Williamson will be looking forward to winning back to back Orange Cap this year
Williamson will be looking forward to winning back to back Orange Cap this year

If Virat Kohli is the best player in the world, Kane Willaimson is not too far behind him in terms of skill. But when we look at the accolades that these players have won, Kohli has the edge over him.

In the past few years, Williamson has become the go-to player for his team, both at the domestic and International level. Under the leadership of Kane, New Zealand has established as a well-balanced team.

Williamson's consistent scoring was a valuable contribution to the Sunrisers Hyderabad team as they made it to the finals last year. Williamson is an undeniably top contender to win the IPL 2019 Orange Cap. He will be looking to lead his team to the glory this year after an upsetting defeat last year against the Chennai Super Kings.

Williamson finished with a humongous 735 runs in 17 matches to win the Orange Cap in the previous edition of the Indian Premier League.

#1 Rishabh Pant

Rishabh Pant might win his first ever Orange Cap this year
Rishabh Pant might win his first ever Orange Cap this year

The above two names - Virat Kohli and Kane Williamson have already established themselves as the top players in the game. On the other hand, Rishabh Pant is still a rising star for the Indian Cricket team.

Although Pant has shown what he is capable of on several occasions still he lacks consistency while playing at the International level. That doesn't change Rishabh Pant will be the next wicketkeeper for Indian team after MS Dhoni retires.

In the IPL, Pant is a different beast as last year he wrecked most of his opponents quite easily. And, he earned himself a reputation of an explosive opening batsman. If Pant's teammates provide that much-needed help to their young star, the Delhi Capitals may qualify for the IPL 2019 knockout stages.

Pant scored 684 runs in only 14 matches if Delhi Daredevils went to the knockout stages, he would have most likely won the Orange Cap.

Honorable Mentions:

KL Rahul, Jos Buttler, AB de Villiers.

Fetching more content...