IPL: 5 batsmen with the most sixes in the tournament

Modified 28 Nov 2019
Top 5 / Top 10

#4 Rohit Sharma - 194 sixes

Rohit Sharma is the most successful IPL captain
Rohit Sharma is the most successful IPL captain

India’s opening batsman, Rohit Sharma has hit the same number of sixes as Suresh Raina but his lesser IPL appearances have allowed him to grab the fourth spot in this list. Just like Raina, Rohit has featured in all the IPL seasons and played for two franchises.

He kicked off his IPL career as a part of Deccan Chargers in 2008. The Hitman played three seasons for the Chargers, scoring eight half-centuries and hitting 51 sixes. He moved to Mumbai Indians in 2011.

Playing for his home franchise, the right-handed batsman struck 31 sixes in the first two seasons before Ricky Ponting elected him as the captain of the team. Rohit showed no nerves in his first IPL season as the MI skipper. He took his team to the title and led his army from the front by striking 28 maximums.

Since then, Sharma has not allowed the bowlers to take the control against him as he has finished every season with a minimum of nine sixes. In IPL 2019, the 32-year-old batsman had scored 10 sixes and, he will look to increase that number in the approaching IPL tourney.

Published 27 Nov 2019
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now