⚡️ Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

IPL: Captains who have scored more than 700 runs in a single edition

Top 5 / Top 10
Modified 20 Dec 2019, 16:08 IST

#2 David Warner - 848 runs in 2016

David Warner helped SRH to lift their first ever IPL title in 2016.

One of the most consistent batsmen in IPL history, David Warner has lent SRH the much needed stability at the top. Opening the innings with Shikhar Dhawan, he got his side off to great starts which enabled them to set mammoth totals and chase down targets with ease. Apart from his aggressive batting, his contribution to the side as a fielder is unmatchable.

The 2016 edition was David Warner's and SRH's most successful IPL season. SRH won 8 of the 14 games in the league stage, before winning all their remaining playoff games to lift their first ever IPL title. During this period, he scored 848 runs at an average of 60.57, including nine fifties at a healthy strike of 151.42. His exploits in the final, where he made 69 uns off 38 balls, helped SRH post a total in excess of 200 - allowing them to take control during the finals.

The franchise had to lose out on Warner's services just weeks before the 2018 campaign began, having been banned for a year by Cricket Australia over a ball-tampering scandal which took place in South Africa, though his influence to their success cannot be understated.

Published 31 May 2018, 10:46 IST
Fetching more content...