Favorites Edit

Deccan Chargers all-time XI 

17.00K   //    21 May 2018, 11:29 IST

Mumbai Sports And Fitness
Gilchrist led the side to IPL glory

The Deccan Charges were one of the eight initial teams of the Indian Premier League and the winners of the second edition of the tournament in 2009. After five seasons in the competition, the franchise was terminated due to a breach of contract terms.

However, during their five years in the IPL, the Hyderabad franchise saw some splendid cricket and players on display from around the world. The second season of the IPL was conducted and hosted by South Africa, although the format of the competition remained unchanged. 

Here we pay homage to some stars of the former franchise by looking at the all-time XI players in the history of the Deccan Chargers. 


Shikhar Dhawan 

Current SRH opener, Shikhar Dhawan was formerly a Deccan Chargers player for their last two seasons. Although during his time at the franchise, they performed dismally. Dhawan has proven himself to be consistent in the IPL amassing 4300 runs and makes his way into the best Deccan Chargers 11 ahead of Herschelle Gibbs.

Adam Gilchrist 

Former Australian captain, Adam Gilchrist, led the Deccan Chargers to IPL glory in the second edition of the tournament in South Africa. The wicket-keeper batsmen led the side to their only title after a dismal first IPL season where the side finished last under VVS Laxman. An explosive batsman, Gilchrist scored more than 2000 runs in 80 IPL appearances.

1 / 5 NEXT
Topics you might be interested in:
Fetching more content...