New User posted their first comment

Highest Opening Partnership in IPL

The current record of IPL highest opening partnership belongs to Jonny Bairstow and David Warner. The Sunrisers Hyderabad duo scored 185 runs against Royal Challengers Bangalore in the 2019 IPL season at Hyderabad.

Highest Opening Partnership in IPL

Player 1Player 2RunsTeamOppositionSeason
Jonny BairtsowDavid Warner185Sunrisers HyderabadRoyal Challengers Bangalore2019
Gautam GambhirChris Lynn184*Kolkata Knight RidersGujarat Lions2017
Mayank AgarwalKL Rahul183Kings XI PunjabRajasthan Royals2020
Shane WatsonFaf Du Plesis181*Chennai Super KingsKings XI Punjab2020
Chris GayleTillakratne Dilshan167Royal Challengers BangalorePune Warriors India2013
Sachin Tendulkar DR Smith162*Mumbai IndiansRajasthan Royals2012
Jonny BairtsowDavid Warner160Sunrisers HyderabadKings XI Punjab2020
Mike HusseyMurali Vijay159Chennai Super KingsRoyal Challengers Bangalore2011
Adam GilchristVVS Laxman155*Deccan ChargersMumbai Indians2008
Mahela JayawardeneVirendra Sehwag151Delhi DaredevilsMumbai Indians2013
David WarnerWriddhiman Saha151*Sunrisers HyderabadMumbai Indians2020

*Last updated on 4th Nov 2020

Follow Sportskeeda to get the live score of Indian Premier League.

Putting a huge total on the board is a major part of the shortest format of Cricket. A good opening partnership plays a crucial role in achieving this. Since its inception in 2008, a lot of opening pairs have held the title of highest opening partnership in IPL. The record has been constantly broken and a new benchmark of opening partnerships in T20 has been set each time.

Before this Gautam Gambhir and Chris Lynn had the record of the highest opening partnership in IPL history. The Kolkata Knight Riders opening duo scored 184 runs not out against Gujarat Lions in the 2017 season of the IPL.

Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now