IPL Orange Cap Winners

Last Modified Mar 13, 2024 15:15 IST

List of all IPL Orange Cap Winners from 2008-24

Year WinnerTeamRunsAverageStrike Rate50100Highest Score
Shubman Gill
Jos Buttler
2021Ruturaj GaikwadCSK63545.35136.2641101*
2020KL RahulKXIP67055.83129.3451132*
2019David WarnerSRH69269.2143.8781100
2018Kane WilliamsonSRH73552.5142.448084
2017David WarnerSRH64158.27141.8141126
2016Virat KohliRCB97381.08152.0374113
2015David WarnerSRH56243.23156.547091
2014Robin UthappaKKR66044137.785083
2013Michael HusseyCSK73352.35129.56095
2012Chris GayleRCB73361.08160.7471128
2011Chris GayleRCB60867.55183.1332107
2010Sachin TendulkarMI61847.53132.615089
2009Matthew HaydenCSK57252144.815089
2008Shaun MarshKXIP61668.44139.6851115

IPL 2024 Orange Cap

The Orange Cap is one of the most prestigious awards in the Indian Premier League, presented to the batter with the highest number of runs in a particular season.

It is undoubtedly a huge achievement for any batter as the title not only showcases his sheer determination throughout the championship but also establishes him in the T20 format because of the level of cricket displayed in the league.

Hence, it's like a golden ticket for batters to accelerate their cricketing career. The competition has seen some exceptional performances from individuals who won the Orange Cap at the end of the season.

As far as records are concerned, legendary opener David Warner holds the record of winning the coveted cap on three different occasions in the league's history.

Last year, stylish Indian opener Shubman Gill has put his name in the Orange Cap Winners list after hammering a record-breaking 890 runs in 17 innings @ 59.33/157.8 with three 100+ scores.

This year, we have some exciting prospects playing in the 10 franchises and it’ll be one tough fight to be in the Orange Cap Winners List.

Rules for Orange Cap in IPL 2024

  1. The award is given to the leading run-scorer of the IPL season.

  1. The batter with the most runs in the tournament during the season would wear the Orange Cap while in the field.

  1. In case of a tie, the Orange Cap is given to the batter with a superior average.

FAQs :-

Q) What is Orange Cap in the IPL?

A) The Orange Cap is a special prize in IPL given to the batter who scores the most number of runs in a season. The Orange Cap race officially starts after all franchises have played one game each. The Orange Cap winners list extends as the season progresses, and the player who ends as the leading run-scorer takes the prestigious prize home.

Q) Who was the highest run-scorer in IPL 2023?

A) Gujarat Titans opener Shubman Gill topped the run-scoring charts in IPL 2023. The current GT skipper racked up 890 runs in 17 innings @ 59.33/157.8 with four 50+ scores and three hundreds.

Q) How many Indians have won the Orange Cap in the IPL?

A) Six Indians have won the Orange Cap in the IPL. They are Sachin Tendulkar (2009), Robin Uthappa (2014), Virat Kohli (2016), KL Rahul (2020), Ruturaj Gaikwad (2021), and Shubman Gill (2023).

Q)What are the benefits of being an Orange Cap holder?

A) The benefit of being an Orange Cap holder is that more people know about a batter’s talent, especially when the player is uncapped. Orange Cap holders also get to wear a special cap while fielding for their franchise. Last year, the Orange Cap winner additionally received a prize money of INR 10 lakh.

Q) Which uncapped player won the Orange Cap in IPL history?

A) The only uncapped player to win the Orange Cap in IPL history is former Australian batter Shaun Marsh. The talented southpaw smashed 616 runs in the inaugural season of the cash-rich league in 2008.

Q) Do super over runs add to the Orange Cap?

A) No, runs scored in Super Over are not considered for the calculation of Orange Cap.

Q) Has anyone ever had a Purple cap and an Orange cap simultaneously?

A) Many legendary all-rounders have played in the IPL, but not a single player has been in the Orange Cap winners list and the Purple Cap simultaneously in the same season.

App download animated image Get the free App now