Favorites Edit

Robin Uthappa scores 8th consecutive 40+ T20 score, consolidates world record

104.56K   //    22 May 2014, 17:22 IST
Robin Uthappa
Robin Uthappa

Kolkata Knight Riders batsman Robin Uthappa, on Thursday, registered his 8th successive 40+ T20 score which happens to be a world record, The previous record was held by former South Africa cricketer-turned-commentator HD Ackerman, who hit 6 concescutive 40+ scores back in 2006.

Uthappa did not have the best of starts in the IPL this season. The turnaround in his fourtunes came around when he was moved up the order to open the innings with skipper Gautam Gambhir. Since the move to the top, he has scored 47, 65, 47, 46, 80, 40, 67 and 83* in 8 innings, and has looked unstoppable at times.

When it comes to the IPL, Uthappa’s run of scores is the best run anyone has had in the tournament’s history. The second best – Matthew Hayden (2009), Virender Sehwag (2012), Michael Hussey (2013) – all had scored 40+ scores in five concescutive matches.

The Bangalore-based opener batted out the entire 20 overs today, scoring a sublime 83* from just 51 with 10 fours and 1 six to help KKR reach 195 from their allotted overs. During his knock, he overtook Glenn Maxwell as the Orange Cap holder of the current IPL season.

Uthappa dedicated the knock to his personal batting coach Pravin Amre, who has helped him with his batting style and technique over the last couple of years.

Topics you might be interested in:
Fetching more content...