IPL teams ranked in order of most points accumulated in first 10 seasons

Who has accumulated the most number of points?
Who has accumulated the most number of points?

The Indian Premier League, since its inception in 2008, has seen 13 different teams grind it out for the trophy over the years. The first decade of the cash-rich league has witnessed six franchises being crowned champions - Mumbai Indians in 2013, 2015 and 2017, Chennai Super Kings in 2010 and 2011, Sunrisers Hyderabad in 2016, Kolkata Knight Riders in 2012 and 2014, Deccan Chargers in 2009 and Rajasthan Royals in 2008.

While winning the trophy is the ultimate aim, the first step towards it is a top-four finish in the league stage. On that note, we rank franchises in order of most points accumulated in the league stage over the first 10 season of the IPL.

#13 Kochi Tuskers Kerala: 12 points, 1 season

Enter caption

This franchise boasted of some notable T20 names like Mahela Jayawardene, Brad Hodge, Ravindra Jadeja, Muttiah Muralitharan, and Brendon McCullum. However, they got just one season to make it or break it in the league.

They could not gel together in the season and finished at the 8th position in 2011. They managed to stay above two other teams, but could not go beyond that. They won six games and acquired 12 points from them.

The main problem with this franchise was that they could not get their playing XI right. ThisΒ is an understandable situation for a first-time squad, but it is unfortunate that this team never got a chance to rectify the mistakes they made in their first, and last, IPL season.

1 / 13 NEXT
Edited by Arvind Sriram
πŸ’¬ 2 comments
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now