⚡️ Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

IPL 2018 auction Mumbai Indians: Full list of players bought by MI


Krunal Pandya was the costliest buy for Mumbai Indians at the 2018 auction

Three-time IPL champions Mumbai Indians had a decent 2018 IPL auction in which they managed to get all the players they wanted, making some fantastic signings.

Going into the auction, Mumbai retained Rohit Sharma, Hardik Pandya and Jasprit Bumrah and had a purse of INR 47 crores to fill the remaining slots. Adding to this, they had two RTM cards at their disposal to use for their former players.

They started the bidding on day one by using their RTM card on Kieron Pollard before they bought the pace duo of Mustafizur Rahman and Pat Cummins. Later in the day, Mumbai used their second RTM on Krunal Pandya, something that was expected even before the auction started. They ended the first day with the signing of wicketkeeper Ishan Kishan and middle-order batsman Suryakumar Yadav.

The second day saw them going for under-19 leg-spinner Rahul Chahar before they bought their priority pick, Evin Lewis, for just INR 3.8 crores, a steal for a batsman of Lewis' calibre. They followed it up with some good overseas picks in Ben Cutting, JP Duminy and Jason Behrendorff and good uncapped Indian players.

Apart from the signings, the franchise were also involved in some intense bidding for some players including the likes of Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, KL Rahul, Chris Lynn, Dwayne Bravo etc.

List of
List of players signed by Mumbai Indians at the 2018 IPL auction

They made a big mistake at the auction by using their RTM for Pollard, especially after bidding for the Trinidadian. They could have bought him and used their RTM on Jos Buttler, who was eventually acquired by Rajasthan Royals.

Mumbai Indians’ final squad for IPL 2018: Krunal Pandya, Ishan Kishan, Kieron Pollard, Pat Cummins, Evin Lewis, Suryakumar Yadav, Ben Cutting, Mustafizur Rahman, Rahul Chahar, Pradeep Sangwan, Jason Behrendorff, Jean-Paul Duminy, Saurabh Tiwary, Tajinder Dhillon, Akila Dhananjaya, Aditya Tare, Siddhesh Lad, Mayank Markande, Sharad Lumba, Anukul Roy, Mohsin Khan, MD Nidheesh.

Fetching more content...