Most Maidens in IPL History

Last Modified Mar 18, 2024 16:50 IST

Most number of Maiden Overs bowled in IPL history

1Praveen Kumar1194203251901436.127.73
2Bhuvneshwar Kumar14654239711541225.797.3
3Trent Boult8432126661011126.98.3
4Irfan Pathan1033402649801033.117.78
5Lasith Malinga1224713366170819.87.14
6Jasprit Bumrah1204553378145823.37.39
7Sandeep Sharma1043853002114826.337.77
8Dhawal Kulkarni92297247486828.778.31
9Dale Steyn95362250897725.866.92
10Harbhajan Singh1635694030150626.877.08

To bowl a maiden over in any format of the game is a strenuous job but to bowl one in T20 cricket requires a great level of skill set and patience. A maiden over is the one where the bowler does not concede a single run in six balls or in other words he/she bowls six consecutive dot balls in an over.

In a format where the batter tends to charge right from the word go, the bowlers have to be accurate with their line and length to outwit their opponents. Legendary Australian fast bowler Glenn McGrath was the first player to bowl a maiden over in the IPL.

McGrath, who played for Delhi Daredevils (now Delhi Capitals) in the inaugural season of 2008, got the wicket of Rajasthan Royals batter Taruwar Kohli and later bowled three dot balls to Shane Watson to bowl a maiden-wicket over in just the third game of the IPL.

In his very next game against Deccan Chargers, McGrath bowled a maiden over against Adam Gilchrist and Venugopal Rao. Although Gilchrist picked a single on the third ball, it came through leg byes, which isn't counted under the bowler's name and hence McGrath bowled his second maide over in as many matches.

Former Indian pace bowler Praveen Kumar, who played for five franchises across 10 IPL seasons, has bowled the most maiden overs (14) in the tournament history.

Two-time IPL Purple Cap winner Bhuvneshwar Kumar is ranked second on the list with 11 maiden overs in 146 matches. Bhuvneshwar can surpass his former Sunrisers Hyderabad teammate to bowl the most maiden overs in IPL in the years to come.

Former Indian all-rounder Irfan Pathan sits third on the list of most maiden overs in IPL. Pathan bowled 10 maiden overs from 103 IPL games.

Royal Challengers Bangalore pacer Mohammed Siraj became the first bowler to bowl two maiden overs in an IPL innings. Siraj achieved the record against Kolkata Knight Riders during an IPL 2020 match between the two teams in Abu Dhabi.

App download animated image Get the free App now